We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountway Holiday Apartments: Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I stayed here for 7 nights in February 2010. Having read some very bad reviews on Tripadvisor prior to check-in, I was somewhat concerned. However it is very good value for money and would rate the accommodation 3 stars. I have travelled the globe and stayed at many places over the past 10 years and therefore experienced enough to make an honest judgement. The apartment is very clean and contains all what you need. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It surely isn’t the most modern apartment you have ever seen, however it is simply very good value for money. I have not seen any cockroaches or other insects. You can’t expect a 5 star accommodation so convenient located to the CBD for approx AUD 90/night, hence don’t expect it. The people behind the bad reviews simply have not travelled enough to understand what value for money is. They also should think twice before writing such review which could harm the reputation of Mountway Apartments. The accommodation and managers simply do not deserve these comments.

A satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeatlePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2010

Had a lengthy stay at these apartments and i can say I will never be back again for the following reasons, Cockroaches, Room Service 2 times in 4 weeks, leaky Air-conditioner, Television is so smal that you have to sit on top of it to see anything, Verandah Windows and Sills are very dirty, Design & Furniture is circa 1960's which was a very tragic time for households in the western world, a bit like what fashion did for the 1970s. They have about 60 Apartments here and only parking for about 20 cars so if you miss out you have to park on the street and then you risk getting a fine, so far I have 2 fines. All in all, a great city to visit and the people are brilliant however avoid this Apartment Complex.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Bergin, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2010

It is a tough call to thank you for your comments or even apologise when over the six weeks you were with us you did not mention any of your concerns to us. For a start surely you would not put up with it for six weeks if it was that bad? Surely you would say something? After our discovery of your comments on Trip Advisor we checked our housekeeping records and found its true you had a ‘service’ once every two weeks. Generally Holiday Apartments do not include servicing of apartments. The last time you were offered a service but declined was Thursday 21 January. You added that you would be leaving us on the following Tuesday. The leaky air-conditioner sounds terrible but the drainage pipe was reconnected by our technicians. Following that minor repair, it became un-necessary for you to throw the collected water out the window at the people below (who were the first to report the isolated problem). The 1960’s were not a tragic time for households in the West and in 1970 the fashions were just that, 1970’s. The relevance escapes us. Sitting closer to the TV, rather than on top of it however makes a lot of sense. Free parking works well at Mountway however if you return late in the evening it is free to park on the street until morning. Then you can bring your car in when guests depart, go to work or out on excursions. What is tragic about this situation is the person accepted a rate of $71.00 per-night (weekly for six weeks) and then for reasons known only to themselves posted misleading information halfway through their stay. There ought to be law against making statements of complaint when easily accessible avenues for remedy are ignored. Communicating with reception or management early in the stay would seem logical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Me and my partner stayed here in november 09 and were very happy, craig went out of his way to make us comfortable, when we stayed it was fully booked yet they helped us and other couples with extra nights and any problems.There were NO cockroaches or Spiders place was clean but very budget, we were within walking distance to perth city, train station and main bus stop. When we stayed it was incrediably hot in perth and the room had air con which was great. Yes the hotel is right next to a freeway but considering me and my partner are light sleepers this did not bother us at all.
For the price we paid it was very basic but we were able to sleep in clean sheets use a clean bath, clean utensils and cooking items. I would recomend for family or couple on a tight holiday budget!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x0181122438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Building needs demolishing, beyond overhaul!
I'll let my photos do the talking, sadly what you won't get is the disgusting smell of the place - so close to the freeway you can't open the windows because of the noise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishheart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Bergin, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2009

Thank you for taking the time to post some comments on trip advisor. We have identified the apartment where you took those photographs and we have attended to those shortcomings. We appreciate all comments that can constructively contribute to our quality control. The owners and managers do not agree with you that the building needs demolishing. Our latest overhaul included fresh paint in all the apartments and reverse cycle air-conditioning. The barbecue area is still looking new. Our location adjacent to the Swan River nestled between Kings Park and the City is highly regarded. We do think most of your comments are exaggerated, but on the other hand the stains on the kitchen cupboard shelf are disgusting and if I was forced to look at it all day I wouldn’t like it much. To say the whole place smells disgusting is really stretching it. If it were true we would not be 90% filled to capacity most of the time. PS: We cannot compete with your other holiday (post) comment at $280 a night. We charge about ¼ of that and it’s appreciated by the budget traveller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Dirty, musty, mouldy and with cobwebs. Two grown men couldn't get out of there quick enough! Booked for 8 nights - stayed one. Wish we had researched further before booking and read the trip advisor comments rather than the ones on their own site.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaffyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Bergin, General Management at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2009

We understand what they are saying. And thank you for bringing this to our attention. The bleach we use in the bathrooms can give a musty smell. I am very sorry to have to tell any interested party that we are fully booked on an ongoing basis. The reason for this is we are the most affordable apartments in Perth. However we understand that some guests realise that they could afford and perhaps should have paid 30-50% more at any one of our neighbouring properties. We are not pretending to be an up-market property. What we do is try to attract the budget traveller. Mountway is suitable for all travellers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments. Many, many guests including corporate clients (local and overseas) are very happy with the location, comfortable beds, friendly atmosphere, and there own kitchen and bathroom. We also recommend that people do their homework and read all the trip advisor comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Our group was well served and enjoyed visiting Mountway. Its location between Perth city and Kings Park make it an ideal place to stay. Their shop with breakfast supplies allowed us to have breakfasts on our own schedule. Their service was excellent. Overall, we were very happy with Mountway and would certainly stay there again on return to Perth.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonBirdperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

If you want to make friends with BEG BUGS, then this is your place. Travelers be WARNED. NOT worth the effort, the location is tempting, just a skip and a hop over the bridge, BUT if filth, stink and allergy attack is on your itiniary then this is your holiday destination.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-Bergin, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2009

Since the banning of DDT a few decades ago bed bugs are on the rise. The main issue really when put into perspective is how does management cope with the problem when a victim does not report it and just leaves it for the next guest. It is a matter of education and vigilance by all employees. Should it happen at Mountway the guest may be compensated with a refund of expenses including accommodation. Yes it can be a problem ANYWHERE in transient accommodation situations. Should any-one out there want to know about bed bugs there are over 2,300,000 pages on the net……How do we tackle/control the problem?.... For starters we apologise given the opportunity. I would not like it myself. We have the problem 99% solved so give me a call at Mountway. PS We still can’t stop guests bringing them from other properties. Vigilance and education for all is the key.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#51 of 66 in Perth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Perth Central City Stay
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#58 of 66 in Perth
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing