We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alderney on Hay
Nearby Hotels
ibis Perth(Perth)
US$105
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Perth Langley(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$69
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Miss Maud Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$64
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
45
68
53
44
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
68
53
44
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshay streetindoor poolsofa bedundercover parkingcooking utensilswe've stayedgreat accommodationfull kitchenwashing machineground floorcat busan overnight stayperth cityswan riverlaundrywacacricket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The apartments were ok, very small beds and generally clean. Disappointed with the customer service, lack of parking and incorrect reception opening times. Stay at this appartment about 4 years earlier and was very disappointed. We all now refer to this place as 'Ordinary on Hay'.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DINKs_from_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We did discuss on this issue via email this week and we did explain to you that only 1 car bay per apartment is allowed and this was mentioned to your apartment organiser and occupants during reservations and again during check in. We also have signage near the entry of the car park and all through the car park which you denied of seeing although they are clearly visible and similar signs are used by public car parks too. (also you have also stayed in the property previously and experienced the same parking arrangement and condition of free parking) As advised previously the complimentary car parking voucher that your apartment was entitled to was given to the person who checked in and he has signed as received and agreed to display this voucher. The car that was clamped had a different car registration number to this voucher. As you advised us you parked the second vehicle as no one was in reception we viewed the cameras and found the reception was open til midnight. At no time a call was made to the after hour phone assistance or to reception. Please note that the person who checked in signed agreeing to the condition of entry form that clearly states 1 car park will be provided free of charge and the voucher will be displayed. In this instance you managed to get the car park entry codes from a third party and parked without authorisation and was clamped by the contractors the strata company hire. If more clients parking two or more cars, will result on genuine guests who gets a free parking bay to miss out. This is not fair as everyone is entitled for a free car park bay at the Alderney On Hay and not a few people only benefiting this priviledge. As you aware most properties in Perth charges between $15 - 25 per day for parking and we are still providing free car parking bay for each client and we can only do this if guests do not abuse the system and try to park more cars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was looking for accommodation in Perth that had a heated pool as my kids wanted to swim in winter time. I actually rang the hotel myself before booking as I had read a review on here stating the pool was cold to swim in even though sold as having a heated pool. I was assured by hotel staff prior to booking the pool was heated to 28 degrees - so went ahead and booked. To my dismay when it was time to take the kids swimming they were unable to due to the temperature being WELL UNDER 28 degrees. I went down to hotel reception to advise them, I was told they would have someone from maintenance come and look at it and I asked for a manager to contact me to discuss as the pool was the only reason I booked their hotel. Nobody from maintenance came to look at the pool (I waited to talk to them) and also didn't receive a phone call to discuss from management. The next morning I went back to reception to speak to the very rude reception staff. I explained the above and was told that they had sent an email off the starwest as reception staff can "not do anything about the facilities, only the rooms". I advised I was very annoyed as I had been waiting to speak with someone. Long story short I now have to email the general manager - (apparently by the name of Mr Anthony) to speak about this - nobody obviously had any intention of contacting me as I was originally advised.
**SO TRUST THE REVIEWS - POOL IS NOT HEATED AND HOTEL WILL NOT TELL YOU THE TRUTH ABOUT IT**

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aliesha354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thankyou for your feedback. We did receive your first complaint to reception as pool is cold and what compensation do I get. Unfortunately as a property we need to first check whether your claim is correct or not. In this instance as the pool is monitored by Poolwerxs we contacted them and they have assured us that the pool is on correct temperature. The pool temperature is set by this company who looks after the pool on behalf of the strata company. During your stay we also have another guest in house for over 3 weeks requesting the pool temperature be reduced. Unfortunately we cannot adjust the settings done by Poolwerxs as we believe they are a professional company and has more experience than any of us when it comes to pool maintenance. In this instance I can assure you that the pool is in correct temperature and below is what Poolwerxs has sent to certify this.(NB: We had to cross the name of the person as to this site guidelines)

I hope you do understand as a property we cannot change the pool temperature as to each individual customers requirements.

Management
Alderney On Hay

To whom it may concern,

As Certified Pool Operators of the swimming pool facility at Alderney On Hay. I would like to clarify that it is a heated water environment.



Kind Regards



XXXXXXXX| Multi-Unit Franchisee



PoolWerx

The Healthy Pool People



Perth City | Beldon | Mullaloo | Hillarys | Sorrento | Joondalup | Ocean Reef



Tel: (08) 9300 9103

Mob: 0423 829 536

Fax: (08) 9300 9104

sorrento@poolwerx.com.au



Top Total Business and Business 2 Business Sales 2012,2013

Franchise Council of Australia Multi-Unit Franchisee of the Year WA 2011

Australian Franchisee of the Year 2010

Business 2 Business Excellence Award 2010

SPASA Swimming Pool Technician of the Year 2008

Regional Franchisee of the Year 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Have stayed at lot of apartments for work and pleasure but this apartment outstanding on its services nothing was a problem. Is great value for money. We were offered the best long stay rate. The apartment was very clean and fully equipped. Staff is very friendly & helpful.
Location is central for everything we needed.Over for the outstanding service was a great place to stay in Perth as we have tried a few in Perth over past 12 months I will chose to stay only at Alderney On Hay again.
Thank you to all staff who made our stay perfect !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 451ChristoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Myself and 2 of my friends were enjoying the accommodation at the apartment and i must say and we all agree that they have very good service standards and they are maintaining it very well. staff is well trained to look in to any need and want and you can take/bring your own food and cook at your comfort and that could come handy on your budget than eating out but when it was a busy day of cause eating out was the convenient thing to do. Rooms are spacious and clean and we enjoyed our stay for the fullest. I would go there in my next visit as i'm pleased with what we all received.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranjith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Family of 4 of us looking for accommodation in Perth accidentally came across this property and was booked. Later when we saw the negative reviews were concerned and wanted to cancel the booking but as Perth was booked out all reasonable price 2 bedroom apartments sold out so we kept our booking and was very concerned.

I. Can tell that we are lucky we didn't cancel the booking as we found nothing wrong with the deluxe 2 bedroom apartment. Lounges were not brand new but clean. Apartment was very clean, we didn't need parking but they offered free parking and advices us and got us to sign a form if we need parking to get a voucher to display.
To be honest for $155 for a 2 bedroom apartment I don't think it's great value.i kids enjoyed the pool area .

Room Tip: Book a deluxe apartment and you will find you are in a modern apartment. I think the ones who has negative comments may stayed Ian basic standard apartment
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews