We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alderney on Hay
Ranked #64 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I will never stay here again. I arrived an hour before check in time with my 70year old mother and my one month old son and a 6 year old daughter. We were prepared to wait for check in time and decided to have some food from the restaurant. When it was time to check in they told us to wait,which I thought was going to be a few minutes and did have a problem with that.when I thought they had forgotten about us and went to the people at reception, they just would not lift their heads to talk to me and looked busy(unacceptable).They finally gave us the keys just before 3pm with no proper explanation of the delay. On the checkout day they where knocking on my door at 9.58 to remind me
that I must check out.check in 26 November 2012 out 2 December 2012.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mumtow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back. Unfortunately we find it hard to investigate this matter further as to below issues.
1) The dates you mentioned as stayed 26 November 2012 out 2 December 2012. Our system has no record of any guests staying from the mentioned arrival date to departure date.

2) In another part of your review you mentioned as Stayed July 2013???? We need the exact dates so we can investigate the matter.

3) I assume this may be in July as Nov 26th where you mentioned as staying and having a meal in the property restaurant. The property restaurant is always closed on Saturday and Sundays.

It would be appreciated if its a recent stay if you can advice me the dates of your stay so I can investigate this matter.

Management
Alderney On Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    63
    49
    43
    69
See reviews for
118
25
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Collie, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The staff was rude and arrogant. The security was abusive and extremely rude. We expected some nice quality service but that was the last thing we received. The male receptionist needs to sort his attitude out as does the security. Will not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitkate94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I assume you are the guest who stayed in the apartment on last Saturday night who was warned at 10pm for having loud music and also having over 6 persons in an apartment that was meant to be for a maximum 6 only. You signed an agreement with the reception with regards to noise and the consequenses if the conditions of entry to the property is not followed. These conditions are in place so our valued guests are not disturbed by unwanted party goers. Our property caters for holiday makers and corporates not for people to have parties and disturb other decent travellers. Therefore we have a very strict policy. This was advised to all guests on arrival. Security and reception staff in our property has been instructed to deal with these guests who fail to follow the property conditions and disturb others. So we don't have to deal with them in the future. Also our policies extends to all guests who gets a warning and charged for security call outs are banned from the property.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

we wanted to be within walking distance of the city attractions and the waca ground.location was good and offered complimentary off street parking.
we stayed here for a week and found it of an average standard.
the rooms are well equipped,clean,and of a good size however definitely dated.
staff were friendly enough without going that extra you encounter so often these days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback.

Management
Alderney On Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Did not enjoy staying at this hotel.
The woman on the front desk was the rudest I have ever encountered.
Also, be warned. Even though you have undeground parking and can't get into the car park without a code, they will clamp your wheels and fine you $150 to get it off if you don't display a note from the hotel on your dash. It's a total rort.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room like the ones they have on their website. The older rooms are pretty ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I have spoken to the female reception staff member and find that she was only trying to explain that there was a requirement to display the car park voucher given to you on arrival where you got angry with her due to been clamped. Also there was signs displayed all through the car park and also you have signed accepting this was informed during your check in. This system was implimented so we do not get fined from Perth City Council for illegal parking nor we run out of car park space from guests bringing more than 1 car and parking on other guests parking spaces. As explained to you by the female receptionist on duty when you complained been clamped this was very clear to you when you made the reservation and during check in process which you ignored to display the voucher on the clamped vehicle.

With regards to the room type yes Deluxe apartments are nicer as they are slightly higher in price. Standard apartments are the lowest price apartments and have the basic facilities.

Once again Thank you for your feedback.

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very clean. Wonderful queen bed. Spacious rooms. Quiet. Large balcony. Laundry fully equipped kitchen. Bathroom with lotion shavecream shampoo conditioner. Carpark. Computers for use. Reception efficient friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback.

Management
Alderney On Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here for four nights having travelled from Kalgoorlie to celebrate my daughter’s birthday and the New Year in the big city! I am most surprised at earlier negative reviews.

The two-bedroom apartment was spacious, very clean and extremely well-equipped with full cooking facilities, a generous supply of tea & coffee, washing machine, dryer and dishwasher. In fact, almost everything you could possible require for a comfortable stay. A balcony overlooks Hay Street.

There is ample secure parking and both the car park and the building (when Reception is closed) are accessed through a security code. There is a small library in the ground floor reception area and brochures advertising local attractions.

No WiFi which I thought unusual for such well-equipped accommodation in the centre of a major city but a most enjoyable and comfortable few days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dande49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to advice you that we currently have wifi in the lobby area only but working on having it in the apartments in the near future.

Management
Alderney On Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had no issues staying here, Friendly staff went out of the way to help my sick child, even offered to drive to the hospital. Apartments were very neat and tidy, Had all the facilities we needed for our holiday. Most of all we were impressed with the service we received.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside platinum apartment as they are nice serviced daily and no noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chand777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback.

Management
Alderney On Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#63 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Property: Alderney on Hay
Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing