We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean, well-located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Ranked #8 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I booked a private ensuite room here for 4 nights (June 15-19) after arriving on the Indian Pacific from Sydney.

I was quickly checked in by a friendly, quiet young man who seems to spend his downtime reading (always a good sign).

I went up to my room which seemed spacious for the price and level of accommodation. Everything was perfectly clean, including the bathroom. There was an electric kettle, 2 mugs, and plenty of tea/coffee/sugar. There was even cream in the fridge. A television was also present in the room, but went unused. There was an airconditioner as well. At $120'ish per night, it was a bargain compared with the $300 p/n Mercure.

Laundry cost $4 to wash ans $2 to dry. An ample portion of washing powder could be purchased from reception for $1.

The hostel also gives 30 minutes of free WiFi per night booked.

My only complaint was a slightly squeaky bed.

Room Tip: A private room is a great alternative to a hotel room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for The Emperor's Crown Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

Arrived at the reception at 8AM but could only check in at 2PM. But they have a locker room for you to store your bags. It is walking distance to Northbridge , Railway Station and Hay Street Mall. Provided 30 mins of free wifi per day of stay. Rooms and showers are clean. Stayed here for 2 different nights. The first night June 2nd, I got a 4 bed dorm and it was quiet. Cannot remember which room it was. On my second stay there , June 10th, I got a 4 bedroom dorm , I think it was room 14. There was a music session outside that last until 11.30PM. Overall, this is a good place to stay and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

When i arrived at the hostel i was greeted by an exceptionally friendly and helpful lady so i was instantly pleased with my choice. I booked a 4bd dorm with ensuite and was happy to see that the room was a good size, had a table and chair, lockers, wardrobe and a clean bathroom. More power points would be useful however overall clean and the hostel itself was bright and clean. The street outside was quiet and close to the city, however not sure how safe it was at night. I did visit the shared downstairs bathrooms and have to admit it was not as nice as my dorm ensuite and so if you can afford the extra $s i recommend your own bathroom. The hostel was quiet, safe and i made some new friends on the one night that i was there!

Room Tip: Go the ensuite
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We plan to do some walking sightsee around Perth CBD and so after some research on TA and Perth hotels,we booked this hostel and chose the doublebed room with ensuite bathroom for some privacy, for AUD 115/night. On a quiet street, one can walk to the train station in about 7 mins,passing the museum and library; and a bit further to Murray St Mall, William St, Barrack St and to the Barrack jetty Swan River, another 7 mins. The nearest bus stop from EC hostel was just round the block about 150 metres; the blue CAT museum stop no. 7. This free bus service passes through Northbridge area and turns back and goes down the Barrack jetty and back. The hostel has a good vibe and many facilites. Our room has aircond,tv,fridge, tea/coffee making,bedside lamp,cupboard,large bathroom but no chairs. One big gripe is the pillow,which is the slimmest and not supportive at all. You can hear people talking from the courtyard near room 2, which can be amusing or irritating, and courtyard closes around ?11pm. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and we kept our bags in a locked storeroom after 10 am checkout. We came back in the evening and she called a taxi to the international airport terminal, about 37AUD.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 for 4 nights in Room 10. We were astounded to see how expensive accommodation in Perth has become, especially during the week. While mining may be a boom for the economy, it's killing the tourism industry in Perth! Given that, we struggled to find reasonably priced budget accommodation in Perth. The fact that we paid $120 per night to stay in a hostel gives you an idea about how expensive Perth is. We booked via wotif and had our own room with private ensuite. The bathroom had a soap dispenser and towels and small soaps were provided. Bring your own facewasher, hairdryer etc. I emailed the hostel in the days leading up to staying there to enquire about a few things and had very prompt and very helpful replies from the manager there.

Pros:
- The location is fantastic. It's a quiet spot, but is less than 5 minutes walk to William St, Northbridge where there are heaps of good places to eat. It's about a 20 minute walk to Mt Lawley where there are even more great restaurants and bars
- I've never stayed in a quieter hostel. It was amazing! Our room was above the shared courtyard and the only noise that came from there was on the Friday night, but come around 11pm all noise ceased almost instantly!
- Having a bar fridge in the room is handy and even more handy is the very well equipped kitchen in the hostel. Be aware you need to take your own cutlery though
- It's nice to have opening windows. You can't move the blinds out of the way, but you can still open the windows up wide. Only down side is the smoke from smokers in the courtyard wafting into the room but that doesn't happen all the time
- The room was very spacious because it had a bunk bed as well as the double. There was also a handy mantlepiece to put stuff on

Cons:
- No coat hangers in the cupboard. I bought a 10 pack from Target for $4 and when I put them in the cupboard I discovered it's not actually wide enough for normal coat hangers! If you hang them diagonally you can manage to fit them
- There was only one teaspoon in the room, despite having 2 coffee cups
- The pillows were really, really lumpy and were not great to sleep on
- The bathroom wasn't as clean as it could have been. There was residue on the tiles from previous guests and it could do with a bit more of a scrub (although it is a fairly 'heavy duty' kind of bathroom)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerKRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I have never experienced more helpful staff before. When we checked in the young man managing reception actually helped us take our bags upstairs, "because there isn't an elevator" he said. Wow! The evening shift person was just as helpful booking a taxi for us. This is a very quiet hostel, unlike several in the area that looked just awful. The ensuite we had was large and air conditioning is hostel wide. The only drawback is that the kitchen is also used to cook for a cafe so breakfast making is a little tight, but dinner is unaffected as the cafe is closed. Outside the door, around the corner and a block away is the arts area, with the CBD and train station a block from there. Restaurants all over the area if needed. Grocery is a block the other way out the door. I am returning to Perth in another two months and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

positives:
good location
clean and spacious sitting area
helpful staff
negatives:
price
additional costs such as wifi, crockery deposit (!)
dorm rooms in need of a thorough clean
kitchens not clean

overall this hostel is ok just not great and not at all worth the price. the bedroom i stayed in hadn't been cleaned in weeks or months.according to girls in the hostel there weren't better hostels in Perth city centre. I would cope with staying here again but would avoid where possible.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
1,260 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 53 in Perth
148 reviews
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#10 of 53 in Perth
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#11 of 53 in Perth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor's Crown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: £12 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing