We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Ranked #9 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and safe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed in for five days. the staff are friendly and the room is relatively clean compared to other backpackers. it is located in 2-min walking distance to the CBD. surrounding area is quiet and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    103
    58
    22
    20
See reviews for
14
56
133
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I liked this place. I stayed here for almost three weeks and loved it. The reason I chose this hostel was because it is not a party hostel and it is quiet during the night. Which, I can say, is true. The hostel is not the cheapest, but it has probably the bed value of all the hostels in Perth. The location is nearby the CBD (10 min walk) and nearby all the pubs (10 min walk). The dorms have only 4 beds and are clean. There is a big common area to sit (inside) and there are 2 areas to sit outside. However the first impression of the hostel is a little bit disappointing. It feels more like an office building. But if you stay here for a longer period, you start to feel home in this hostel. Which is for me very important (probably for everybody).
The staff is very social and helpful. They always make a little talk (if they have time) and can give you a lot of tips and information.
The only point of improvement is that the showers/toilets could be a little bit cleaner and that the bunk beds are very wobbly. The mattresses are good though. Just a tip:

take two small cushions from the common room and place them between the walls and the beds. Saves a lot of wobbling.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amigoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hostel is located 10 mins walk away from the Perth CBD. Reception is very friendly and helpful. However, bring your own towel, as the hostel will only sell it to you.
However, the hostel is a bit spaciouls and you might feel disconnected, so this hostel is good for big groups of friends.
Bed is okay. Private washroom is fine, but could be better.
Overall, very good hostel located ALMOST in the CBD.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bah881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed in a private room for a few days and I absolutely loved this place! The room was a little bit chilly at night but they were really clean and tidy. The communal facilities were very good, they had just finished some changes to the kitchen when I stayed, and there was a good atmosphere. Really close to the city centre and train station, which made getting around really easy.

All the staff were really friendly, the male manager (I can't remember his name), gave me some good tips on where to go in the city.

All in all a really nice place!

Room Tip: Double room with ensuite was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanDunDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The 4 bed mixed dorms are clean and sufficient but the blankets are paper thin so sleeping was quite uncomfortable as it was just too cold. The hostel itself is slightly impersonal and is really for people to stop off for one night. It is by no means a cozy place to stay and sitting in the living room is a little by like the waiting room in a hospital. It is however very close to the centre of Perth and it is very peaceful at night. The staff are nice too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooklins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I booked a private ensuite room here for 4 nights (June 15-19) after arriving on the Indian Pacific from Sydney.

I was quickly checked in by a friendly, quiet young man who seems to spend his downtime reading (always a good sign).

I went up to my room which seemed spacious for the price and level of accommodation. Everything was perfectly clean, including the bathroom. There was an electric kettle, 2 mugs, and plenty of tea/coffee/sugar. There was even cream in the fridge. A television was also present in the room, but went unused. There was an airconditioner as well. At $120'ish per night, it was a bargain compared with the $300 p/n Mercure.

Laundry cost $4 to wash ans $2 to dry. An ample portion of washing powder could be purchased from reception for $1.

The hostel also gives 30 minutes of free WiFi per night booked.

My only complaint was a slightly squeaky bed.

Room Tip: A private room is a great alternative to a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Arrived at the reception at 8AM but could only check in at 2PM. But they have a locker room for you to store your bags. It is walking distance to Northbridge , Railway Station and Hay Street Mall. Provided 30 mins of free wifi per day of stay. Rooms and showers are clean. Stayed here for 2 different nights. The first night June 2nd, I got a 4 bed dorm and it was quiet. Cannot remember which room it was. On my second stay there , June 10th, I got a 4 bedroom dorm , I think it was room 14. There was a music session outside that last until 11.30PM. Overall, this is a good place to stay and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 59 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 59 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor's Crown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Property: The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing