We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Chieri, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“The Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

The Richardson Hotel was a great experience for several reasons. After a very long journey from Italy, it was really nice to meet very kind and smiling staff at the reception. The room we stayed in was much more than a room, a big apartment, with all sorts of comforts, very clean and everything was brand new! We found a beautiful card written by the hotel manager next to a refreshing blueberry and mint tea with a cute biscuit with our daughter's name written on. We had a great view from of Perth from our balcony, the kitchen corner was full of all sorts of crisps and nuts and wine and Nespresso coffee machine. The sofas and armchairs were very comfortable and the tv and dvd player were brand new. There was a series of very beautiful and high standard magazines on the sitting room table. The two bedrooms had very comfortable beds and pillows. The two bathrooms also had all sorts of comforts you can think of. Sheets, towels, covers, slippers, all perfect!!! The Spa had a wonderful relaxed atmosphere... Breakfast and the restaurant were also a very high level. We really felt more than welcome all the time, and everybody was so nice to us. We miss the Richardson and its staff. We are looking forward to going back there and we would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you Babel70 and I was glad to read that we made you feel at home. Thank you also for the detailed review - you have highlighted so many of our points of difference! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    88
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
325
29
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Very well run hotel; competent and friendly staff; located in quiet area (mainly offices), about 15 minutes drive to downtown Perth

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you Bernd160459 for your comments and I was glad to read that you found our staff to be competent and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

The hotel is located in an office area. Our room had no view and looked straight into a neighbouring office. There was no provacy, at all

After spending $200 on a bottle of wine at lunch at the Opus restaurant, I went into the restaurant to buy a $220 champagne in the evening. I was rudely advised that there was a dress standard and I was not allowed to stay (My wife had a 2k Prada dress on).

It was not welcoming and staff were very impolite.

We checked out

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank david60008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear David60008, Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at The Richardson last Friday evening. I make no apology for the dress code at our Opus Restaurant, where a minimum of smart casual is required after 5.30pm and is clearly communicated on our website, prior to arrival and on checkin. As you have pointed out, your wife was certainly very well dressed, however it was your attire that caused the restaurant staff to refuse admission - shorts are not acceptable in the main dining room for dinner. I do apologize if any of our staff were impolite or offended you as this was not the intention. We did offer to serve you drinks in our Residents Lounge or the Conservatory, both of which I understand was not acceptable and I am sorry if this was perceived as not welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

My husband and I could not fault our wedding night spent at this lovely boutique hotel. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, the facilities in the room were fantastic and the staff were very knowledgable, refined and highly professional. The degustation meal at Opus was exquisite as was the lovely breakfast. A short stroll to the picturesue Kings Park was an added bonus. Highly recommended. Loved the sitting room near the foyer where you could read the paper, watch TV, have a coffee or just peruse the wall of photo's showing all the famous stars who had stayed there previously. Tasteful and Classy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you Rachel255103 for your comments and congratulations once again on your recent wedding. Your positive feedback is much appreciated and I will certainly take the time to share your thoughts with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

My stay at this hotel was a surprise for my birthday. I started the day in the spa where the excellent staff pampered me for hours. My treatment included lunch in one of the hotel suites. This was lovely. Overall, the spa is wonderful. The best I have been to in Perth. Our stay in the hotel was too short! I would have loved to have stayed longer. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Our meal in the restaurant was absolutely excellent with perfect wine to match. The room is very warm and inviting with lovely furniture and fittings. The bed was big and comfortable. The pillows were great but they have a pillow menu if you require a specific kind of pillow. Overall I loved The Richardson. I would stay there again and again if I could!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoOsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you GoOSnow for your comments and I was glad to read that you had a memorable birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully for a longer stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

The room was very nice, spotless and comfortable. However what made our stay so enjoyable was the outstanding service and facilities. The staff were extremely good and the Spa/pool facilities were wonderful. Being greeted by a bottle of bubbly and delicious homemade iced tea (which I'm still craving) set the scene for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you asbuchanan for your comments, in particular regarding the home made Moroccan iced tea which took a while to perfect! I was particularly pleased to hear that our staff made the difference to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in need of more indulgence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We had 3 nights at the Richardson and had a very good experience. The room was lovely with lots of space. Having the kitchen area was also very good and the fridge was very well stocked. The restaurant was very good we had very good breakfasts and had dinner 2 of the nights we were there which were also very good . A special mention of Nanda the breakfast restaurant manager who was very helpfull and charming . All in all a wonderfull hotel that we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia19062001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Thank you Olivia19062001 for your comments and I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richardson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Address: 32 Richardson St, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#2 Spa Hotel in Perth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#3 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Richardson Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson is Perth's leading five star boutique hotel, designed by renowned London architect Sir Terry Farrell. The Richardson's superb facilities and attentive staff provide all the luxuries one would expect of a hotel that prides itself on making each visit an enjoyable and memorable experience. The Richardson has a policy of no smoking within the hotel facilities. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Richardson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richardson Hotel And Spa
The Richardson Hotel Perth
Richardson Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing