We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Five Star Boutique Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Margaret River
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Five Star Boutique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just enjoyed a most relaxing long weekend at the Richardson. The quality of service and the quietness of this hotel are what truly set it apart. At no time did we feel the place was crowded. And our room was spacious, clean, and very well appointed; it felt like a peaceful private apartment but with all the extra benefits of a luxury hotel. Our room on the seventh floor enjoyed a light, bright aspect, with views across Subiaco and down to the CBD. It was spacious and we really appreciated the separate seating and dining space in which to relax and unwind.

We enjoyed breakfast and dinner in our room; meals were delivered promptly and were hot and of excellent quality. We also had breakfast in the conservatory, with lots of choice; and dinner on Friday night in Opus Restaurant, which is a truly a find dining experience.

The hotel is a family business, not run by a chain, and it shows in the warmth of the greetings of the staff, and the feel of the place. And we really appreciated the reasonable prices of the minibar and in-room snacks. Of course you pay for all this quality, but that is what you get!

There was a mix-up over our room service breakfast on our last morning, but we received a friendly apology and a reduction in the bill. Mistakes can always happen, it is how they are handled that counts.

Room Tip: Go for a room above the fifth floor for a bright outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Thank you kindly for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Shaun Fields
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    88
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
325
29
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel a lot. Our room was on a bit small side but that’s due to our limited budget. It’s maintained well and very clean, and it had definitely a classy but relaxing atmosphere.

What we loved even more with this hotel is their service. The staff members are all professional in a good way, not cool detached icy professional but warm hearted professional.

Some reviewers wrote that this hotel is located far from the city centre but it’s all right for us. On the contrary, we find that fact advantage because the location makes this quiet and relaxing atmosphere of this hotel’s.

We will definitely choose this hotel next time we visit Perth.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Happygolucky500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

It was a pleasure meeting you and accommodating you during your visit to Perth. Thank you for the kind words about our staff, we most certainly will be passing the feedback on to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a very nice small hotel -- lovey staff, quiet street, and rooms that are in fact small apartments: ours bed, living, kitchen. You could stay here for a year (but not cook -- only a microwave, and the kitchen didn't have the most basic preparation tools such as a chopping board or sharp knife). Over all, mostly very comfortable. Downside: location perfect if you have a car, otherwise inconvenient. Our balcony had a perfect view into the windows of the neighbouring office block, maybe 20 metres away. And the killer: the early wake up call from the plumbing -- every toilet visit, shower, hand wash, from upstairs rooms, all faithfully rendered, maybe amplified, through miserably cheap wall cladding just behind my head. It woke us up every morning at 6am. And all that at a very high cost, not even including breakfast. So, not for me again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 112358-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We certainly do welcome and encourage feedback from all of our guests, however after reviewing all feedback forms and inquiring with our hotel staff, it is apparent that neither yourself, nor any other guest, has raised any comment during their stay or even on departure, relating to “Bathroom noise”.

To be honest, in the 7 years that this hotel has been in operation, we have never once received a comment on the noise of our plumbing. In fact quite the opposite actually.
I encourage the reviewer to please contact me directly in regards to the comments raised as I would appreciate the opportunity to investigate this matter and the particular room involved.

Kind Regards.
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Easy to find, easy to get parking unlike inner city hotels were its one way streets and double parking just to check in. Quiet, private, luxurious but not over the top where you may feel out of place. All the staff made us feel very important and that they genuinely cared. Rooms immaculate, great size, amazing mini bar and well priced. Room service WOW the meals where fantastic. Loved our stay will come back again I am already trying to think of a good reason to get away again. The Richardson Hotel and Spa have raised the bar on what I expect on all other hotels. I am not sure how others will be able to compete

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth Lasson l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that your interactions with our staff were warm, welcoming and professional.

We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

So good, comfortable, quiet, spacious, extremely clean, a bit of luxury and brilliant service. A reasonable walk to the Arena in a decent pair of shoes. We didn't use the spa or have breakfast hence average mark. A little expensive maybe but worth it.

Room Tip: We didn't use spa or have the breakfast. The hotel was the best, clean, comfortable spacious qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_j_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted to see that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
The hotel is certainly in a very convenient location should you be attending an event at the Perth Arena with most of our guests choosing to take a short walk.

I certainly do hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was given a spa day at the Richardson, which was a full day of luxury. The spa elemtn was fantastic - I was given access to the pool and sauna both before and after the treatments and was able to spend as long as I wanted there. The actual treatments were glorious (and special cudos to Juliette, who was talented, professional and nice to chat to as well). I was taken to a hotel room and given a three course lunch, which would have been fantastic but for two things (1) I wish I'd been given notice of this - I'd have brought magazines or a book. I didn't really want to watch TV in the middle of the day - it kind of broke the spell; and (2) the smoked salmon appetizer was not good. I love smoked salmon, and the rest of the meal was fine, but the salmon tasted like chemicals. I suspect the restaurant is in fact very good, but that salmon made me question whether I would bother trying the restaurant again.
Returning to the spa however, the service was perfect, the treatment wonderful, the staff at both the hotel and spa very accommodating, and all in all it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear that you found your time spent with us very rewarding and relaxing.
Whilst the spa lunch is served in our very highly regarded guest rooms, we most certainly do have our restaurants available for this option should you so wish. Perhaps on your next visit we can arrange this for you instead.
Our Opus restaurant is held in very high regard with very positive reviews, I certainly would encourage you to give it a try, please do contact me should you wish to make a booking.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Shaun Fields and his staff made my wife and I feel their most important clients. Attention to detail from simple greetings to and from the hotel to front desk and wait staff going above and beyond standard customer satisfaction made our anniversary one to truly remember. I would highly recommend the spa and both food and service at Opus. Highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1963type3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and it is fantastic to read that you hold us in such high regard. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richardson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Address: 32 Richardson St, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#2 Spa Hotel in Perth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#3 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Richardson Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson is Perth's leading five star boutique hotel, designed by renowned London architect Sir Terry Farrell. The Richardson's superb facilities and attentive staff provide all the luxuries one would expect of a hotel that prides itself on making each visit an enjoyable and memorable experience. The Richardson has a policy of no smoking within the hotel facilities. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your The Richardson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richardson Hotel And Spa
The Richardson Hotel Perth
Richardson Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing