We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent friendly luxury hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly luxury hotel with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

As well as lovely rooms and facilities, this hotel has a lovely luxury boutique hotel feel, with personalised service and very attentive staff. Would certainly recommend to others who are visiting Perth.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeymbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your review and for the kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Shaun Fields
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    92
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
69
333
29
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Richardson Hotel and Spa is a very comfortable hotel which offers its guests suites. Our suite had a kitchen, comfortable living area and bedroom. There was the usual plasma screen TV in both living room and bedroom. There was a handwritten welcome card and a welcoming drink on the dining table. All of the staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful. This hotel provided an oasis of calm on our one -night stop ahead of our return home via Dubai. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant. There is also a very nice guest lounge with coffee, fruit, water, newspapers etc. The owner took time at reception as we were checking out to ask us about our stay. We would definitely return if we are in Perth again.

Room Tip: I am sure they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMcC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
It is a pleasure to see that you felt welcomed and had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us.
Hopefully we get to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

splashed out on an overnight stay (with degustation at the Opus) for the better half. She was highly impressed from the start. The Manager even welcomed us personally and left a handwritten note in our room - very nice touch. The room was excellent, the spa treatment was really good (at least until I fell asleep...). Enjoyed our stay immensely. Need some serious brownie points? Bring the other half here.

Room Tip: all the rooms look good, but ones facing Richardson Street on the higher levels may be a bit quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atticlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you, and welcoming you to the hotel, and i am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The Richardson is attention to detail. Great hotel, great service and polite and personable staff. Nothing is too hard. Affordable and worth the stay.
Nestled away in West Perth away from hustle and bustle.
Business or break....... Perfect

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank VRod911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Delighted to read that our efforts were well received and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not only the manager of this hotel is funny like the door of a prison , but in that hotel , he is one of the most an antiseptic and inflexible persona !!! His snobbery hiddens a lot of inefficiency of the numerous ( too many for the service given ) staff who looks like the behavior's leader ! We had the misfortune to be in it on My bride's birthday ( I informed the reception desk in advance ) and no inkling of a congratulation ( fortunately , the airline did it and offered to him a very appetizing cake at 10.000 meters altitude ) ! Nothing to compare with any 5 stars hotel, we visited ( and we did ! ) Magnetic room keys were changed every half-day or every day , no phone house was available in the lobby to reach our room , the informations given by the desk'staff were almost false and light, , no complete ; from the pool , the telephone was not working , even to reach an outside local call . We didn't receive any serious informations about the tours available , for discovering the zone ( we went by ourselves in a travel agency and had a lovely one ! ) ; but the worst in that hotel was the 1st.floor indoor swimming pool : not attended , cold temperature because the door to the outdoor , was quite , always open , and the water in the pool , lukewarm , at the point I had a painful cramp forcing me to get out after 45 minutes of swimming , with much difficulty ( the manager argued a camera , in the lobby was watching , normally what was happening !!!!!! ) . We planned to have a dinner the last day in Their OPUS restaurant , on the last evening : but we didn't take the risk to do it , fearing to have the same morose service !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDRH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
It is a shame that someone can abuse this service and use it to vent when they cannot get what they want. This person (we are not allowed to use his name) threatened to post a bad review after we did not give him a complimentary late check-out. He was extremely rude to three of my staff and has now carried out his threat in an attempt to damage the reputation of this hotel.

Shaun Fields
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hotels in Perth are expensive in general. Pay the difference and enjoy the Richardson. My family of 7 adults and 1 child stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel. Being low season in Jul/Aug period, we enjoyed a complimentary upgrade for one of our rooms to a 2 bedroom suite. Nicole whom I emailed to confirm many details was super helpful. She helped sort out all our sleeping arrangements, booked our car through Avis and made reservations for dinners. The quality of service is amazing and that took the pain out of planning for a big family traveling together.
The rooms were very clean and well appointed. The beddings were very comfortable and the well stocked kitchenette was a boon for us traveling with a toddler. The neighborhood is quiet but near enough to some very good restaurants.
I found the room (705) facing the road noisy and promptly had a room changed the next day to room 608 which had a quieter orientation. The staff were understanding and helpful in this respect.
Beside having good tea/ coffee making facilities in the rooms, there is a lounge in the lobby which serves a free and full range of specialty teas and coffees together with apples and biscuits throughout the day.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing Thomas Road which gets pretty noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family to The Richardson. It is rare that the reservations department guests a mention in these reviews, and yet it is such a vital part of the stay as it is the first impression of the hotel. We will be sure to pass the feedback on and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Fields, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent thee nights there recently. Large rooms, great facilities. helpful staff. It is out of the city centre but only about 15 mins easy walk OR you can catch the free 'Red Cat' bus which drops you off and picks you up at a stop just around the corner. All the staff were very helpful but a special to mention the restaurant & bar staff who were just great.
Don't dismiss the restaurant in this hotel 'Opus', it was very good and we had the best oysters of our whole stay, here.
We would stay here again when in Perth and can recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We imagine all rooms are of a similar standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you kindly for posting a review of your recent stay with us. Our staff, in particular the restaurant staff, will welcome the positive feedback. We certainly do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Fields,Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richardson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Address: 32 Richardson St, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#2 Spa Hotel in Perth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#3 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Richardson Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson is Perth's leading five star boutique hotel, designed by renowned London architect Sir Terry Farrell. The Richardson's superb facilities and attentive staff provide all the luxuries one would expect of a hotel that prides itself on making each visit an enjoyable and memorable experience. The Richardson has a policy of no smoking within the hotel facilities. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Richardson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richardson Hotel And Spa
The Richardson Hotel Perth
Richardson Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing