We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, super restaurant and very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel, super restaurant and very friendly staff.”
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Spent a week here recovering from a very busy working week in Perth. We had found the hotel on the WEB and had no personal recommendations. We had a lovely suite (Jarrah) which had an excellent range of food and drinks and a lovely west facing view. We enjoyed the Spa facilities where there was a lovely pool. Would go and stay again and thoroughly recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LdeCossart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWA70, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2010
Thank you LdeCossart for your comments. It is reassuring to hear that, from the Hotel accommodation to the Spa and to Opus Restaurant you found the guest experience consistently good - a consistent challenge for hoteliers! I will certainly share your comments with the team. Thank you once again for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    98
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
75
354
29
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

The room were proper suites and the one which we had was the size of some flats. It was very well equipped from a fridge freezer to comfortable sofas. There were even items of food in the freezer. The mini bar was reasonably priced. Everything worked properly and we didn't have to search for anything or wonder how it worked. The beds were very comfortable and one could even senf for different pillows of necessary. The alarm clock (simple and uncomplicated) would awake the dead! There was a large balcony with comfortable furniture.

On the downside we waited an hour for dinner and if it had n't been for the bread rolls I would have still been hungry. The food was rather fussy "pattern on a plate". Dinner was onlt two courses (Iam used to 3 or4). The cooked breakfast was excellent both in quality and quantity.

The position of the hotel is in a quiet suburb but it is on the Red Cat (free) bus route so very convenient..

The reason I cannot rate it 5 is because of the poor service and food at dinner. Other service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWA70, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Thank you MinnieD45 for your feedback and I was glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We receive numerous comments about our alarm clock as, being a traditional clock, it makes a pleasant change to the generic digital clocks that can take a while to decipher!

Thank you also for your comments regarding dinner and I am sorry that you did not experience the normal Opus menu. As you were travelling with a group tour program the menu was prearranged with the organiser and only two courses were chosen. I will certainly review this with the relevant organisers as it could be perceived as a reflection of the restaurant.

Thank you again MinnieD45 for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

The Richardson is an outstanding hotel with excellent amenities and very high quality staff. Set in a delightful close to CBD location, the hotel combines the warm intimacy of a boutique with all the comforts and amenities of a bulge bracket major. It is a pleasure to stay at The Richardson.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marathon41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWA70, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Thank you Marathon41 for you comments which are much appreciated. We consistently strive to create a warm, hospitable environment coupled with personalise service to create a boutique feel. It is reassuring to hear that these efforts are noticed and I will certainly pass on your feedback to the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

My husband surprised me with a lovely night at The Richardson in West Perth. Such a lovely boutique hotel. We were greeted and made welcome from the minute we drove up to the front doors and our car was taken and parked for us. All staff were so attentive to our every need. Check in was quick and friendly. We felt very special to be informed that we had been given an upgrade to a suite and late check out. It was very appreciated.

The room was lovely. First impression was how lovely it smelt. It had everything you needed. Little kitchen with a great coffee maker! Meals available in the freezer if we wished to purchase them. It had it all. Lounge area was really comfortable. Balcony was roomy. Bathroom modern and clean. Bed huge and so comfortable, robes and slippers, tv in bedroom too. Choice of 6 pillows available if we desired. The whole suite was spotless.

My husband had booked me in for a Spa Treatment, while he enjoyed the gym. The spa was just beautiful. As I lay there on the heated bed, all wrapped up in mud I thought I had died and gone to heaven! It was just lovely.

The pool area looked great too. Reminded me of beautiful Bali resorts.

Enjoyed dinner at the Opus Restaurant too that night. Again, so attentive to our needs. Lovely environment and beautiful food.

We were really relieved to find that the room was so quiet throughout the night. You couldn't hear any of the traffic noise at all.

Enjoyed yummy breakfast in the sun room area of the Opus Resaurant.

The hotel is in the heart of West Perth. Just a short stroll to cafes, shops, etc and not far to trendi Subiaco.

It was just what we needed to relax, and spend some time alone enjoying each others company - no kids to interrupt! Would love to go back soon. Thanks to everyone there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLBPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWA70, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Thank you GLB Perth for taking the time to review our hotel. From your review you seem to have made the most of your stay and enjoyed the Spa as well as Opus restaurant. I was pleased to read that both experiences were enjoyable along with a good night's rest. We look forward to welcome you back when you are in need of an oasis of calm and relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2010

It is always a pleasure to stay at The Richardson in Perth.
On arrival, I was I greeted by their Concierge and on check in taken to my room and familiarised with the hotel/room facilities and their 24 hour service and hospitality. This was further followed by a courtesy call from their Duty Manager to personally welcome me back to the Richardson with the offer of reserving a table for dinner that night at Opus, their fine dining restaurant. In taking up the booking I found their food to be well presented, succulent and very tasty, whilst the chosen wine was superb.
Throughout the balance of my stay, I was warmly greeted, well looked after and welcomed back at the end of each day's business with care. in a nutshell - it was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbiMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWA70, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Thank you AbbiMelbourne for your patronage - it is reassuring to hear that we create a home from home atmosphere for our regular guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We visited for our 35th anniversary and took advantage of a special deal including accommodation and meal at Opus restaurant. We have stayed at all of Perth's 5 star hotels - usually in a suite and The Richardson leaves them all a long way behind. From the personal greeting of the Hotel's manager to the glass of water on check in the staff were courteous and helpful at all times. Our room - an upgrade to a 7th floor suite was spacious and beautifully furnished. We really appreciated the berry tea and the nespresso coffee machine. The style seems to aim for quiet quality not flash and it suceeds well.
The staff seem prepared to handle any situation with efficiency and good humour - the dvd player in our room stopped working and within two minutes the concierge had arrived to attempt a repair, when this was not possible a new machine arrived promptly and was up and running in no time. We waited several hours in another Perth hotel while they lost our bags between our room and reception with no apology - I cannot imagine this occurring at The Richardson.
Our Degustation meal at Opus was a similarly enjoyable experience, while some of the courses were not choices I would have made every one was spectacular - it was a great way to try things I otherwise would not have done. The service was suberb, unobtrusive but charming and knowledgeable. The quality of the restaurant's tableware and fit out was also great making for a truly special night for our celebration. Yes it's expensive but you get what you pay for and it's well worth the money.
Overall I could not fault our stay, thank you very much to this hotel for making us feel like very special guests - we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollycat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWA70, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2010
Thank you Mollycat123 for your comments and I am delighted to hear that we managed to create a memorable anniversary for you. Although we invest a significant amount of time and resources to ensure your room is perfect on arrival, the unexpected can happen and I was pleased to read that, in the case of the DVD player, this was resolved efficiently. I was also glad to read that you enjoyed the dining experience, not only for the quality and unique food but also the quality of service and physical product. More than anything, I am sanguine that we made you feel special as this is our ultimate goal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We chose this on the basis of the TripAdvisor reviews - we found this the best hotel we had stayed at. The room was thoughtfully kitted out as an apartment with all the odds and ends that might be wanted (from frozen pizza to cheese to paracetamol); the hotel was quiet, well-organised, clean and comfortable (even by the standards of 5-star. However, the thing that really makes the hotel is the staff who are remarkably helpful and and supportive without becoming obsequious - makes it comfortable to turn to them. Location is in West Perth but hte local frequent free bus service makes the city easily accessible. Shops and cafes are a block away. It inlcuded effective cable broadband (speeds drop further out of the city), a good swiming pool and an adequate gym. Its Opus restaurant is very good and provides a selection of room service dishes. Overall, not cheap but a sense of getting what you pay for. We will return the next time we stay in Perth.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWA70, Hotel Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2010
Thank you TBCS for your comments and in particular the compliments regarding the staff. We firmly believe that our staff are our greatest asset and I am delighted that the daily efforts by many have been noticed and appreciated. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
282 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,530 reviews
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,166 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#17 of 64 in Perth
2,267 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richardson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Address: 32 Richardson St, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#2 Spa Hotel in Perth
#3 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Richardson Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson is Perth's leading five star boutique hotel, designed by renowned London architect Sir Terry Farrell. The Richardson's superb facilities and attentive staff provide all the luxuries one would expect of a hotel that prides itself on making each visit an enjoyable and memorable experience. The Richardson has a policy of no smoking within the hotel facilities. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Richardson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richardson Hotel Perth
The Richardson Hotel And Spa
Richardson Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing