We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

we came for the cricket in december 2010
we had a wonderful stay here for 5 nights before going on to melbourne
the room was excellent and clean and would stay here again when we come back hopefully soon .

Room Tip: great stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gsheffield9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,315 - 1,321 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed whilst on a business trip. Reasonable and comfortable apartment - but housekeeping leaves a little to be desired. Television not working (had to fiddle quite a bit to get things right); milk in fridge out of date; room not serviced one day and had to call down for towels etc. when I returned from a day at the office; no hair dryer in room (had to request from reception); and after a room service one day - cleaner left a very smelly dirty rag in the bathroom sink! Would stay again as I like apartment style accommodation - but in a pretty grotty part of town and a title of property (and rates) a little deceptive. Ordinary.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LSB1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager138, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent feedback. We have recently changed our housekeeping team and unfortunately, to our detriment it has affected our guest's experience including yours. We are working hard to have our housekeeping team back up to a high standard that is expected and have shared your feedback with them.

We do hope you return to our apartment style accommodation and see a more positive difference.

Best Regards,

Mervin Lim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We were very happy with our room at this hotel. Smart decor and great views. The location was great - being in the heart of the city - and the customer service was very good too. The only thing that would have been better was if the adjoining bar/restaurant was open more often. It would have been nice to pop downstairs for a drink rather than walking a couple of blocks to find a decent place to have a drink.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Barrack Street - not one that backs on to the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cherelle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Our group of runners stayed here as we were doing the CIty2Surf race.
It's really convenient (only a short 5min walk/jog to the start line) and the rooms a really comfortable & clean.
Highly recommend if you're planning to do the race next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisqey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I booked this through my travel company for a business trip, believing this would be an appropriate hotel for a lone female traveller as I had been travelling in AUS on my own until Perth where my husband joined me.

The hotel name sounds very impressive as are the room photos on the website [although you dont actually get a room that looks as good as the photo of course]. The hotel is very close to the mall, however the hotel is located in a very shady, seedy and rundown part of town which I felt was very unsafe if I had been travelling on my own, as there were a lot of vagrants hanging about outside the shops next door. A bar is attached to the hotel but is very noisy, a betting shop is next door to that and a sex shop is located 2 to 3 doors away from the hotel entrance.

The room was a good size and we did have a good view over the city.

Some of the reception staff were nice but generally the room OK, room cleanlienss OK, however room service was poor, we were there for 4 days/nights, but on day 1 our room was not even cleaned and days 2 and 3, no towels were supplied.

If I had been travelling on my own- I would have moved. I will be reviewing and recommending to my travel company that this hotel shoudl be removed as it is not safe for female travellers on their own.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank carolans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Located in a seedy street with a filthy bar next door. The foyer and entrance way are full of cigarette butts after a Friday or Saturday night. Cigarette butts stayed in the rug of the reception foyer for days, despite my notification to staff it remained unclean. Room service food trays are kept outside rooms for days (we didn't order room service but noticed trays outside rooms that had) and on weekends there is no cleaning in the corridors (sugar packet was left for the whole weekend on the carpet).

Rooms were kept clean and the housekeeping service was good; very friendly, very polite and attentive and exceptionally helpful. Reception staff were terrible.

Traffic noise wasn't too bad with the balcony doors closed. No curtain in the lounge room was terrible for privacy and comfort. No Foxtel or WiFi, which you could expect for the price tag.

Very close to the Murray Street Mall, handy to Barrack Street Jetty and free public transport directly across the road. No local eatery, the bar attached to the hotel is seedy and full of smokers out the front.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elysse2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager138, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Dear Elysse2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we always strive to exceed our guests expectations and are disappointed you weren't 100% happy with your stay.

It is great to hear that you were very happy with the cleaning in your room and the housekeeping team. I have raised the issue of the standard of the corridors and lobby with the Housekeeping Manager as I believe they should always be perfect.

Unfortunately with the Bar next door there smoking area is right next to our entrance, they have recently installed a glass petetion which will now stop the rubbish coming over to our side and housekeeping have been instructed to check this area a lot more often to maintain our lobby area.

The hotel does actually have 5 Foxtel channels so I am unsure as to why you thought there were none during your stay. We are actually in the process of having Wifi installed at the hotel and it should be available by the end of September.

Should you wish to discuss anything further, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Michelle Ashfold
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The apartment was tired looking and musty. However the staff were friendly and it was a short distance to the shops.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oz5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager138, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time in providing the feedback regarding your stay with us in April.
In relation to the points you have raised, I have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping department to further improve the guest experience. This is a continuous process for us and I'm also disappointed that the room you were accommodated in was tired and musty. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss any of the points in detail. We hope you enjoyed the sites and sounds of Perth.

Kind Regards,

Mervin Lim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mercure Perth
#26 of 66 in Perth
1,941 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza

Address: 138 Barrack St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Barrack Plaza)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Perth
#14 Business Hotel in Perth
#16 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#21 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £73 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza positions you perfectly to explore Perth’s CBD and surrounding entertainment precinct of Northbridge. Only 15km from Perth Airport, it is steps from the brand new Yagan Square and moments from Hay Street and Murray Street Shopping Mall. If you’re travelling for leisure, enjoy spacious apartments, many with kitchen facilities plus interconnecting rooms for families. Enjoy close proximity to Jamie’s Italian, Elizabeth Quay, China Town and the hip precinct of Mt Lawley where you can watch a show at Astor Theatre or grab a famous pastry at Mary Street Bakery. Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza also has a selection of three bedroom apartments for larger families and groups. Enjoy free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Perth Barrack Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Barrack Plaza Hotel Perth
Medina Executive Barrack Plaza Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing