We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Perth City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Perth City YHA
Ranked #10 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

A horrible hotel to stay. Right next to a train line and you get a train going past about once an hour from 12-5. Then it seems like every 15minutes and they all have a nice loud toot of there horn as they go past. Rooms are a mess full of long termers who take as much lockers as they want. And the halls are full of dirty work books, the full place just stinks. Staff are uninterested and dont seem to care. Just an awful hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisrice987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Perth City YHA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed in a city near from Perth, and went to Perth a lot of weekends, First times, stayed at any, hostel, but after know YHA, always been there. Its really clean, rooms and bathrooms, good location, near of train station and bus station, everything. Te price is normal.

Room Tip: Front of the train station are not goob, because of the noise, sometimes.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have been staying in a few hostels in Perth and this one is by far the best. I have not seen facilities and standards similar to this hostel here. The staff is brilliant and they seem to love their jobs, the housekeepers are friendly and do a fantastic job keeping rooms, kitchens and bathroom clean at all times. yes it is more on the expensive side but Id rather spend a couple of extra dollars for a clean bed with crispy sheets, a very good security standard, gym, pool and bar.
All of the Northbridge hostels are filthy holes with party animals keeping you up at night while the Y seems to still provide a good atmosphere without the drunk bodies lining the corridors.
They offer good variety of tours with discounts to members too.
I just became a member and will certainly keep looking out for YHAs on my future travels!!!

Room Tip: try the 3rd floor for dorms, seems to be the quietest!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the 2 bedder room with my friend for a night. A pub is housed in the same building with YHA.

At night, there were drunk, rowdy men asking to be let into the hostel. My friend and I did not find it to be a very safe setting.

We were thankful we booked the twin share rooms instead (despite a hefty price tag of AUD110) as the dorms are unlike the other YHAs that we have stayed in. The corridors were smelly with workers' safety boots, old socks and jackets..

Pro of this hostel is that there was a weighing machine for you to weigh your baggage.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qlimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed in the hostel for a few times during my trip in Australia in (Oct./Nov. 2012). The room (4 share female) was nice and had a locker. The shared facilities were clean and sufficient, the kitchen was good and cleaned every day. The TV room is the place to socialise and meet the "locals". Most people are working in Perth or doing FIFO. The staff is very friendly and helpful (always got my preferred room). Just 5 min to city train station and CBD. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cairns_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

A beautiful building in a great location in the centre of Perth; smelly boots line the corridors and permeate the landings. There are crappy tags on the busy bathroom walls, broken toilet locks and unfixed glory holes in shower cubicles. 3, 4 & 5 o'clock our sleep was broken by drunken shenanigans outside room without staff intervention. Selfish guests had left unwashed dishes in the kichen. Altogether, pretty disappointing. Some YHA hostels are becoming doss houses and cheap workers' accommodation, pushing out hostellers. This is one of them.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

For the past twelve months I have periodically stayed at this facility, the accommodation by Perth standards, well this is excellent for a hostel.
What make it excellent in my option?
1. Great staff, their helpful and give assistance were they can
2. Facility’s by hostel standards is good, there is everything their even a gym.
3. Clean, unlike other hostels that employee a long term guest, and well the place doesn’t effectively get cleaned. They have a great bunch of cleaner that does a fantastic job, considering the amount of people that pass through here.
4. Central to the city, within walking distance to also the railway station.
5. Guest who visits this facility is generally friendly and keeps to them self or interact, and attracts a wide variety of guests from the young and well the young at heart travellers and itinerant workers
I am not a gluten for punishment, so monthly I will continue to stay here, which generally is a couple of days, and I always have a good night sleep even in a shared room, and enjoy my time in Perth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damiandonohue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 65 in Perth
1,340 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 52 in Perth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perth City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perth City YHA

Address: 300 Wellington St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: £18 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Perth City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western Australia's first 5 star rated hostel! Perth City YHA is an award-winning hostel designed to meet the demands of all travellers. Located in the heart of Perth City, the hostel has swimming pool, well equipped gym, spacious kitchen, movie room, free Wi-Fi , group accommodation facilities and tour desk. Packaz Bar and Cafe is located on the ground floor of the Perth City YHA and it runs weekly activities. Northbridge, Mt Lawley and Leederville are within walking distance of the hostel with plenty of cafes, traditional and modern pubs, international cuisine, galleries and museums. This backpacker's hostel offers affordable accommodation with modern multi-share, twin, double, en-suite and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Perth City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth City Yha Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing