We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE MOST DIRTY PLACE I HAVE EVER SEEN!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers International
Ranked #48 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Reviewed 12 January 2013

WE DO NOT recommend International Backpackers.It is the most dirty place I have ever been under all lowest standards. No cleaning staff, always dirty kitchen, balcony and (only 4) bathrooms.
The reception staff changes very offen, manager not customer friendly.
No air condition, the furnish broken, loud beds.

I really regret that we spent our money for such not worth one dollar place.


Emilia & Peter

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed at the female dorms of this hostel: Not very helpfull/friendly staff. The rooms (bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen) were not clean at all. Also the kitchen is very small and has not enough cooking supplies and a lot off them don't work very well at all and there are no (clean) towels. A lot of sites say that there is air conditioning, and there is... but its just not working. In the summer it is way to hot! I would definitely NOT recommend this hostel. DON'T GO HERE!

Room Tip: Just don't go here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed in 5 different hostels in Perth and this was, by far, the worst! Dirty smelly rooms with no windows, messy reception and yes, the kitchen seems huge, but in return it was terribly disgusting (and the fridge broke). The manager would allow guests to work in the reception, but the pay was 50 dollars for 12 hours work - and the "receptionists" had no idea what they were doing..
Wouldn't even recommend this place to a fly

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mie_Mikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stayed several months at International, and i really enjoyed my stay there. I recommand this place for backpackers who want to meet people and party. The hostel is located in Northbridge where all the pubs and clubs are, so it's noisy on the Weekend. The hostel is cleaned everyday but lots of workers are staying in the hostel and when they re back from work they messed the showers and the rooms. The kitchen is big but there is a lack of investments, so very few pans and cups. The TV lounge is Ok, with Sky sport so you can follow the English premier league. There is a balcony where you can have some drinks with people which is quite nice but always very dirty with always broken bottles on the floor. Be also aware that there is no refund!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here in march for 4 nights it was absolutely disgusting. Me and a friend stayed in the mixed hostel whilst my sister and cousin stayed in the girls - the girls hostel isn't as bad but it is still very cramped and quite dirty.
The mixed hostel is horrendous. It looks like a university house, there is no regular cleaning so everything is filthy the outside area is covered in cigarette butts and bottle tops. The rooms were so hot (I was in a 10 bed dorm but they managed to squeeze 12 in somehow!) so everyone put bins in the doorways to let air circulate - the bins then got confiscated :/ they also say that they provide free breakfast, which basically means that if the owner can be bothered to get up and come to the hostel she brings a box of cereal and a carton of milk - for over 60 people. The owner is the worst person I've ever met for customer service, she is rude, obnoxious, patronising, antagonising and extremely intimidating - she thinks she's doing you a favour by letting you stay there!
Also they have a system whereby if you don't pay for your bed before check out time that's it it's gone to some one else - but be prepared its like that I'm almost every hostel in Perth.
Northbridge is a cool place to be as all backpackers stay here but don't stay at this hostel it'll ruin your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claret29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Cheaper than other backpackers in the area, and better than other hostels with the same price/night. However there are just 3 toilets, always very dirty and you have often to wait for... This backpackers is definitely unclean and the staff not kind

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in the ladies section of the hostel (it was just up the street from the mixed hostel). It was lovely and was cleaned daily. The only down fall is that it is joined onto a nightclub so weekends can be noisy but hostels in general will be noisy. Met some really cool people there and will deff return. Its ideally located and close to all the pubs and nightclubs as well as shops etc and the buses run right past the door. I would deff recommend for anyone to stay here- was the best hostel experience since we arrived in Perth!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,392 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,644 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers International

Address: 110 Aberdeen Street at Lake Street | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Perth
Price Range: £13 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing