We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Divine food creation”

Balthazar Bar Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 1,360 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Description: Bar scene, special occasion dining, entertaining clients
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Divine food creation”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

First time to this restaurant, we went mid week and the atmosphere was good. The oysters could not be fresher, they tasted like they were just pulled from the sea. I had Gnocchi for entree and the Snapper for mains. What looked like small servings were made up by very good combinations of flavours and I ended up feeling filled and satisfied. Deserts were to die for and all at our table were very impressed. Combined with very good French wine, it was an excellent night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chippa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    69
    25
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Night of Delight”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Beautiful atmosphere accompanied by beautiful food. Service was amazing with exceptional knowledge of quality food and wine. Favourite restaurant in Perth! I definitely would recommend this place for a fine dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineranddinerER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
624 reviews
521 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This place is no means cheap so expected to have good service this did not happen we had a young lady that had been sent in at the deep end with poor training.
It all started when she bought the wrong bottle of wine twice i asked for a pinot and she bought savaugnion and then i asked here for a pinot and she bought out the savaugnion again.
To top it of when she bought the bill she put two bottles of wine on it i queried it and she sorry it was a keying error
The food was good but the whole evening was ruined by such amateur service i will not be going back and i have been several times over the years.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A strange mixture”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Using various websites to guide our choice my colleagues and I dined at B . The service and atmosphere were very good but the menu and foods offered were a strange mixture of traditional and obscure. We went for the 'share menu' as the best compromise but the servings were small. Our experience didn't match the ratings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orgdevsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

My new favourite restaurant in Perth. Food was superb. Service was excellent. Enough privacy for an intimate dinner. Great choices for wine. Absolutely no complaints, everything was spot on!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Daiyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balthazar Bar Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Balthazar Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing