We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, Mediocre service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragon Palace Chinese Restaurant

Dragon Palace Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #747 of 1,644 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, Mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

While most of the yum cha type food are good, we found the service is mediocre. Back in Melbourne, normally the waitress will push the food cart around and introduce or offer the food. Here, they seem to just push the food cart past our table and didn't bother asking until we called one after ten minutes sitting on table empty of food. Can't they see? Even when called they'll just stand there and expect you to know all your food or what's under the bamboo cover. We are not mind readers or have x ray vision. Please tell us what you have under those covers. Multiple steps also a bit hard for those with strollers when dining with little toddlers. Or maybe have I missed the ramp somewhere? As there seems to be a disabled lift outside but was occupied by staff smoking ciggy. Sorry that's highly unprofessional and just not on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    50
    31
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum but Rude Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We arrived in a large group of 15 people. Being herd around for a table big enough for us. After several changes, they finally allow us to settle on an empty table.

Service is rude. Asked for Chinese teas but they have limited choices.

Dim sum was quite a wide varieties and tasty too, comparable to that in Hong Kong.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertChew-MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average food. Typical large scale dim sum restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Typical dim sum restaurant. Nothing special. We were there on a weekday for lunch celebrating friend's birthdays. Service is as expected with the trolleys going round the tables. Some food were great, some was just average. Didn't particularly like their fried noodles! Liked the buns though! A pleasant lunch. Nothing particularly impressive about the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Real dim sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

A friend of us brought us to Dragon Palace and we tried their prawn dumplings (har kao), pork dumplings (siew mai), melted yolk bun (lao sar pao) and Lao Sar Pao they have it steam or baked, all very delicious. But compare to the portion we have back home, it is real big in Dragon Palace! They serve dim sum at 11:00am.
Get there earlier or make reservation to prevent disappointment!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ok_xin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not what we expected - don't accept a table upstairs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Friends had raved about this place so we were looking forward to a dim sum lunch. Crowds waiting for tables Sunday morning, it looked good. We were a party of 7 and finally got a table, but were taken upstairs. When the trolleys finally came round, there was very little choice. If you don't like parwns or dumplings, forget it. We had to order a chicken dish from the menu. We also had to order a pork dish from the menu which still hadn't arrived an hour later. We cancelled that order. The squid was really salty and rubbery. When we left the restaurant we were amzed to see the variety of dishes going round on trolleys downstairs, duck, chicken, pork. KLoads of stuff, none of which got upstairs. All in all, very disappointing. We did mention to the manager that we weren't happy about the choices upstiars and he said to come again and 'he'd look after us'. We won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yunderup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragon Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Dragon Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing