We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Ritz high tea”
Review of Origins

Origins
Ranked #49 of 1,378 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$52 - US$52
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: East Perth
Description: Embrace all the wonders of tea, every weekend in Origins. Beautiful three tiered stands, jewelled with savoury bites and picture perfect cakes will be served as you sip on organic tea, espresso coffee and flowing sparkling wine. AUD65 per person.
perth
1 review
“Better than the Ritz high tea”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Thank you Origins for the most amazing high tea I have ever had! Better than the Ritz, F&M, Dorchester, Raffles in Singapore - anywhere. Completely catered for Gluten free and didn't feel like I was missing out at all. LOTS of free flowing champaigne, great knowledge of teas, beautiful restaurant. amazing staff, good coffee. Can't recommend it enough! Definatley a place to go for a special occation as well as something nice to do. Really reasonable priced too and so much different food - lamb kofta - AMAZEBALLS!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ash b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    24
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Should be so much better”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

On a business trip, felt like a nice steak for dinner so headed to the hotel restaurant. Alarm bells rang when the bread was brought to the table and it had obviously been microwaved to heat up. Fine at pubs, but not good at a 'fine dining' restaurant. No wonder there was only one other table there. Shame, because the setting, ambience, and surroundings are nice. My steak arrived and it's never a good look when there is blood rolling around the plate. I asked for medium rare (which it was), but it's an amateur error to plate the steak before the blood has settled. It looked bad. The garden salad with balsamic was missing the balsamic. For the price, you really expect more. It felt like there were contestants from My Kitchen Rules in the kitchen, as opposed to 'fine dining' chefs. Would I go back? No. Sorry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biznessmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Experimenting with presentation”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Tantalizing food and pleasant poolside atmosphere.

Superb entree. Good steak - but almost no vegetables (without havingto order another side dish). Brulee dessert was classy indeed. Coffee & choice average & limited.

Overall - a little less than anticipated for a 5 star establishment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vernp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Menu- wonderful flavours”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Food was great and staff attentive so overall an enjoyable evening despite being on my own! Will definitely be back next time with my wife.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMAusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High Tea Celebration”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Origins has an amazing High Tea menu.I chose this venue for my 50th birthday celebration with about 20 friends after comparing all the high tea menus around town.The food was definitely more special than the usual fare.Champagne was offered immediately as we got ourselves settled in and were appreciating the elegant surroundings.Tea preferences were taken and the afternoon celebration began.The balance between savoury and sweet was perfect, as were all the choices of pots of tea.Service was outstanding but discreet and staff were constantly offering fresh tea to keep us going as we worked our way through the gourmet afternoon tea treats.We were never rushed and the restaurant was not crowded and noisy like some other places I have been. The venue was elegant and classy but private and I thoroughly encourage all High Tea Lovers to put this venue on the "must go" list

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janesjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Origins also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Origins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing