We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative cooking, a lovely meal”
Review of Restaurant Amuse - CLOSED

Restaurant Amuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$66 - US$67
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: East Perth
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Innovative cooking, a lovely meal”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were on holiday in Perth, and I booked Restaurant Amusé for a special meal to celebrate my husband's birthday together with a friend from Sydney - I was not disappointed!!! We had told them beforehand what we didn't eat (as they ask), and they created a Tasting Menu for us bearing that in mind. It was all delicious and very unusual. The chef's creations were amazing, and he managed to mix not only unusual flavours but also textures, so that one mouthful might be crunchy as well as smooth. They have a very good (and long!) wine list, and we found their selection of 'local' wines to be excellent. This is a restaurant with perfect attention to detail, and a place to appreciate innovative and extremely versatile cooking made with the best possible ingredients.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LP-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    94
    38
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved the experience... ”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I love tasting menus... Restaurant Amuse was one of the best so far... It's great not knowing what is coming next from the kitchen & it's amazing to see what people can create... The dishes were thought provoking & the matching wines were spot on... Loved the experience... Thank you...

Helpful?
Thank benismindless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Staff were attentive but not in your face, food was delicious and well presented. If you want modern Australian, this is the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nantucket_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing experience and a taste sensation!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hadley Troy is a genius in the kitchen! Our experience was one of the most amazing (and unusual) meals we've ever had. The way he can mix ingredients together that shouldn't really go together is so surprising that every bite was a shock - in a good way! There is a lot of food to try so don't be fooled by the small portion sizes in the beginning - you will be so full by the end of it. I was disappointed that I had to struggle through desert, which is usually my favourite course, becasue my belly was so full. We didn't go with the wine package because we are not big wine drinkers but our friends did and enjoyed it. It's very hard to get a reservation - and for good reason. Do yourself a favour and book in now!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPVPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The No.1. Restaurant in Perth”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Restaurant Amuse is without doubt the number one restaurant in Perth. Chef Hadleigh Troy and his wife Caroline are extremely talented and have placed the emphasis on good quality food. This restaurant is not for people who want a cheap La carte menu, this is for people who appreciate good refined food and wine by excellent and talented chef's and wait staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Amuse also viewed

South Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing