We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't disappoint”
Review of Restaurant Amuse - CLOSED

Restaurant Amuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$66 - US$67
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: East Perth
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Didn't disappoint”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

A quiet Tuesday dinner ended up being a triumph!
No a la carte was offered but Amuse was packed even though the degustation is $130 per head.
Fantastic service throughout the evening and delightful dish after dish. Lots do dehydrated powders. The pace was also perfect.
Lovely to try new Australian bush ingredients.
The menu is fully revamped since the last time we visited.
Recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank perthmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    94
    38
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aussies in UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seriously inspired cuisine”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have been back to Restaurant Amuse several times over the last few years - mainly for special occasions as its hard to get a booking unless planned well in advance. But its worth planning ahead - pick a Tuesday to get in quickly! And splash on a Taxi because the wine selection (especially the pairing) is hard to ignore.
Last time we visited we felt Amuse was let down by its very minimalist décor but it has had a good makeover, still unfussy, but a lot more atmosphere than previously.
To explain and describe the whole meal would take for ever, better to just go and try for yourself, but Hadleigh Troy continues to produce some of the most inspired and creative cuisine I have ever experienced (and we eat pretty widely all over the world). I have attached the Degustation menu we had for interest, although dishes do change depending on availability of the wonderful fresh produce that is a real feature of the cuisine here. There is a major menu revamp to reflect each new season. Our last meal here featured a lot of 'foam' but obviously that was a phase and this time there was not a 'foam' in site.. but the amazing textures and flavour combinations are none the worse for it.
One of the highlights of the meal actually isn't on this menu - a complementary 'Amuse bouche' which sounds crazy but really worked - a fish roe (salmon?) with complementary herby flavours and a white (not too sweet) grated chocolate topping. The popping of the salty roe mixing with the other flavours was simply divine.
Of the other eight courses exceptional standouts were the melt in the mouth Marron, the Smokey egg-mushroom pot and lamb/beetroot dish. But really simply everything was lovely. We felt the snapper was a little overpowered by the relatively flavourful accompaniments, but if you took a forkful of everything at once is was great. I had all the accompanying 'paired' wines (and a beer!) which were well thought out and beautifully explained.
In fact the service for the whole meal could not be faulted. It is one of the few restaurants I have been to where every course comes with ain interesting explanation, not from the waiter, but from the clearly very motivated young chefs who have actually prepared it.
Simply outstanding. If I could get a booking (and afford it!) I would go back here every season just to see what these guys can invent next..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_travellers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal wonderful staff”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Enjoyed a very different amazing meal with fabulous flavours and textures
You pay for the time and effort put into each of the 10 courses

Well worth a visit
Well done
From 2 country girls

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ckcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vsrious
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stay away from this place -- food, apart from some cheese, is terribly average with incredible prices for what it is -- up there with loose box and balthasar for great disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Very-very-Discerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very overpriced and food was disappointing! Expect to be watched liked a hawk! Why does a top restaurant have plastic chairs?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Amuse also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing