We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Swan Barracks
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Citylights Hotel(Greater Perth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Alex Hotel(Perth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
9
29
29
30
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
29
29
30
51
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have been there a couple of nights. Room , bathroom and kitchen are filthy. The whole hostel stink. It s an huge place but very old and poorly maintained. Top of that expensive for what it is. Pictures don t match the reality too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandraou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is by far the most dirty and horrid place I have stayed in and I would not recommend this hostel for young sociable backpackers. It is full of people who are living there permanently. Dont be fooled this hostel is not like the pictures on the website. its dirty, smelly and sweaty in every way.

Me and my friend were staying in an 8 bed dorm which was ridiculously hot ( there is no air con) and incredibly dirty. I actually couldn't work our which beds were free as there was others peoples belongings everywhere. There wasnt enough lockers in the room for the amount of people staying in there.

The communal areas are pretty grim, you have to rent plates, cutlery, pans etc. The 'free' breakfast consists of a few cornflakes (minus the milk) and the 'free' wifi actually means 20 minutes each day.

The only good thing about this hostel is its location and its relatively cheap compared to other hostels in Perth but I would advice only booking a max of 2 nights to see how you get on. If you are a young sociable traveler looking for a happy fun atmosphere don't stay here the place is just full of people who are using it as adoss house. It's a shame because I think it could be a great place if it was re-vamped and set up as a proper backpacker hostel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here for almost two months this year. The rooms are dirty, there's no aircon and some of the staff are extremely rude. The kitchens are tiny and rarely cleaned, the carpets throughout the place are old and worn and the toilets are disgusting. It's overpriced and there's hidden charges such as $20 key deposit and $10 deposit on dishes. You can't drink in the hostel other than at the bar. The bar is the only upside to the place as it does cheap beer but the opening hours are rubbish and you have to get a member of staff from reception to serve you. I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malibu_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Bang in the center of town is great and they're quick at getting rooms sorted, some of the staff are really nice, but that is where the praise stops, they seriously need more staff to keep the place clean and to reduce the que times at reception or the bar, the kitchen needs cleaning by staff more often as it was rarely clean. If they had more staff it would be a much better hostel. Cheers

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Annoying hostel!!

Soon as you arrive you need 20 key deposit , and 10 deposit for your dishes, they do not accept card so make sure your prepared for that.

Breakfast: I woke up for the advertised "breakfast" what it actually means is there is just some corn flakes, and WE have to provide the milk!!!
I was not told this before hand so as you can imagine was quiet annoyed.
Then the supposed "tea and coffee" there is no tea provided just a jar of coffee.
So yes the free breakfast provided is well hardly a breakfast really is it.

Also when I went to sit down in the room the place was dirty with rubbish! No one had clearly cleaned it discusting.

Rooms are small I am in a 6 bed dorm it it's so cramped.

Also the free wifi is actually only limited to one hour per day.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey3455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews