We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing farm stay and experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rangitikei Farmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rangitikei Farmstay
Ranked #181 of 1,311 North Island B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing farm stay and experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had an amazing stay with Kylie and Andrew and their gorgeous daughter Hannah. They are superb hosts more than willing to go the extra mile. I highly recommend this farm stay experience to anyone who wants to experience a unique piece of rural New Zealand

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bounce40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
19
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Rangitikei Farmstay is a wonderful retreat which feels like it's miles away from anywhere, but is actually within an easy distance of Wellington, and well served by good roads. We stayed here as part of our honeymoon after doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. It was a perfect place to recharge our batteries. Kylie and Andrew made us feel very welcome. Kylie cooked us the most amazing food during our stay and we loved exploring their farm, taking in the stunning views and doing a spot of gloworm hunting (they weren't shining, but we had fun anyway). We stayed in the west hut and the marriage of rusticity and modern comfort was perfect. The homemade muesli and the thoughtful inclusion of electric blankets (it was winter) made this stand out as one of the best parts of our trip to New Zealand. It is a more authentic experience of life in New Zealand than many more touristy spots. We would recommend this to any of our friends!

Room Tip: We loved the west hut. It has a great view of the sunset. If you're going in winter, expect to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We found this place through Tripadvisor and were supposed to stay over Rangitikei Farmstay to experience a farmer lifestyle. Unfortunately, due to our tight schedule we were only able to visit the farm for a short tour instead of staying over.

This is our first farm tour experience and we were truly glad that we visited this place despite our tight schedule. When we arrived, Kylie (the friendly and nice lady boss) introduced herself showed us the room which we were supposed to stay. The room was really nice and sweet. She had also took the effort to brief us the history of Rangitikei Farm before we headed to our self-guided farm tour. It was a tiring walk but nonetheless we do really enjoy as it was something that we are not able to do it in our country.

After the self-guided walk, we thought that that was the end but however it was not! Kylie brought us to meet and feed the various animals - the pig, the horses and the ponies, the goat and the black sheeps! Jamie (jack russel) and the black dog (Barney?) were with us during this and they were really cute. We were quite surprised that the black sheeps were not afraid of human unlike the white ones where we saw during out self-guided tour.

We got to learn many new things in farming from Kylie. I must say she was really friendly and sweet enough to take some of our pictures and emailed to us!

If we do visit New Zealand in future, we will definitely arrange our schedule so that we can stay over at Rangitikei Farmstay to experience the complete farmers' lifestyle.

Room Tip: Book your stay early and bring sports shoes if you are planning to do a self-guided walk up to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tandroidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

It was my first stay on a New Zealand Farm. I was really impressed, how big it is! just huge! Wonderful countryside, very cool hosts, a lots of animal, Farm Lifestyle pure! All room with charming interior and a rustic style. A big offer of activities, like walks, horse rides, animal feeding and many more. You can discover every day something new! I'm really happy, that I did that and met Kylie and Andrew

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Chef13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruppertsberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We found them in the internet and decided to make a stop there during our trip through New Zealand. That was the best decision we have done! Great hosts, lots of cute animals and cosy accommodation made our first farmstay experience unique. The rustic decoration all over the farm fits perfectly into the scene and the little museum hides a lot of old treasures. There're so many things to do, it was a hard choice just to choose two activities because we stayed just for one night. The guided farmtour and a walk up to the picnic table from where you can enjoy a beautiful view over the whole farm and the mountains made our stay complete. If we come back to New Zealand we'll spend definitely some more days on Rangitikei Farmstay! Thanks to the family for those amazing two days we were allowed to spend on your farm!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Muck85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

So glad we decided last minute to stopover at Rangitikei Farmstay! What a unique experience for our family! This ended up being a highlight of our 2 week travels through NZ! Was a wonderful experience to meet such a nice NZ family!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

What a venue, we had my sisters Hens Party there & wow what a night. Our group didn't know each other very well & it was the perfect venue for a small Hens party. We all got to know each other really well, had a midnight splash in the pool & fabulous time on the deck looking out at the amazing landscape. This is a place that can be used for any purpose. Kylie came & took some photos of us whilst blending into the group, without her we wouldn't have had such wonderful photos of the occasion. Thanks so much once again Kylie & Andrew

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Island hotels
17.2 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
16.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 27 in Whanganui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
29.3 mi away
Mairenui Rural Retreat
Mairenui Rural Retreat
#361 of 1,250 in North Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 mi away
Ohakune Top 10 Holiday Park
Ohakune Top 10 Holiday Park
#63 of 1,250 in North Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
333.1 mi away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#10 of 203 in Northland Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
96.4 mi away
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 40 in Taranaki Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rangitikei Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangitikei Farmstay

Property: Rangitikei Farmstay
Address: 422 Makuhou Road | RD2, 4876, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 1,311 B&Bs / Inns in North Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rangitikei Farmstay is located in a picturesque farming area halfway between Taupo and Wellington, in the lower half of New Zealand’s stunning North Island. Situated on a quiet rural road, RF provides the ideal location for a heartland experience that will appeal to many. RF has a range of different accommodation options to suit every taste; the RF Homestead, Eastern and Western Chalets and RF Bunkhouse. The Farm Museum also showcases agricultural history from the Stewart family’s 100 years on the property. Visitors are sure to leave with fond memories and fantastic photos of their experience on a working hill country station. Guests are welcome to experience life on the farm, interaction with all the animals and activities to suit individual tastes. With knowledge of the local area gained from being the fourth generation on the property, RF can provide a wide range of activities both on and off the farm. Activities include but are not limited to: Corporate functions, horseback and pony riding, mountain biking, ATV rides, farm walks, 4WD tours, clay bird shooting, golf driving, beach trips, bush walks, guided Sambar deer hunting, possum and target shooting and a glow-worm grotto. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rangitikei Farmstay New Zealand/North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing