We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
Ranked #572 of 1,248 North Island B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Wonderful experience to stay at Helen's. Beautiful view over the ocean and Kapiti Island. Very good breakfast. The guest room was top notch. It's a pity we couldn't stay longer. Helen was most helpful in giving advices what to look for in the area. She is a also a very good cook. If we ever come back to Kapiti Coast again we'll certainly return to Helen!
Leif o Ingrid

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Helen provides wonderful accommodation at her B&B right next to Waikanae Beach on the Kapiti Coast. I'm a regular, visiting my elderly mother in a retirement village hospital in Waikanae and I love staying with Helen. Helen is so generous, thoughtful and interesting; provides wonderful rooms and facilities and lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAuckland20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Just imagine waking to the lovely sounds of waves and shore birds in the morning! There was a lovely beach within short walking distance of the house where we enjoyed watching the seagulls and picking up shells. Helen's hospitality is fabulous! We stayed in a beautifully decorated room which had every amenity needed plus an additional area & deck to relax and look at the ocean. Our stay there was truly magical! There was a lovely beach within short walking distance of the house. Lots of attention was paid to small details to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. Breakfast offerings were diverse and delicious! Helen was very accommodating in every way possible and she obviously puts great effort into making it a lovely experience for her guests! I only wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nites!!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank solotraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

What a fabulous place to stay! Helen’s B&B should be Bed, Breakfast and Beach as it is so close to the soft sand of Waikanae Beach being less than a minutes’ walk from the waters of the Tasman Sea.

The swimming is good as well.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and at ease, nothing was too much trouble from the décor in the bedroom through to the comfy bed and crisp cotton sheets. We had our own lounge and balcony overlooking the bay and at night we could see Mount Taranaki across the water with the moon and stars reflecting on the surface of the water.
The breakfasts were first class and as much as you could eat – cereals and fruit with yoghurt and fresh berries followed by toast and or croissants with homemade preserves and to really indulge – a full cooked breakfast; too much for us though.There are three guest rooms – two doubles and a twin which could be used as a family room and would be a great place to take behaved kids that could spend the day on the beach or in the surf

Helen is a first-class hostess even offering to do some washing while she was doing her own and always ready to offer suggestions as to where to eat or what to do. We will not hesitate to refer her and recommend her to friends and fellow travellers and will certainly stay again if we are in the area. .

Room Tip: Good for couples or families with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#1 of 7 in Paraparaumu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Top Floor Bed and Breakfast
Top Floor Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Paraparaumu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tudor Manor Bed & Breakfast
Tudor Manor Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Kapiti Gateway Motel
#1 of 2 in Waikanae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay

Property: Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay
Address: 115 Tutere Street, 5036, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 1,248 B&Bs / Inns in North Island
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 55 minutes from Wellington to Helen's B&B where a warm and friendly welcome awaits you. Direct access to a sandy beach where you can observe nature, enjoy long leisurely walks, beautiful sunsets, spectacular views of Kapiti Island, and the Tararua Ranges. At night, fall asleep to the soothing sounds of the ocean. 100% cotton bed linen. Tea-making facilities. Generous breakfasts. Guest laundry. Off-street parking. Good restaurants nearby. Looking forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Helen's Waikanae Beach B&B / Homestay New Zealand/North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing