We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waiheke Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waiheke Island
Ranked #437 of 1,249 Speciality Lodging in North Island
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“ok experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Took the ferry to Waiheke Island from britomart. It was $36 round trip and at the end of the trip we felt this place was not go worthy. We paid an extra $9 for the full day unlimited bus ride which comes like once per hour. We walked 90% of our trip in Waiheke, so we felt it was not worth it to get the unlimited bus ride.
We got to see some nice vineyards and had wine tastings as well. It was ok I guess, not really much to see, the wine wasn't terrific.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jo y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Definitely take the ferry from Auckland to this location and walk around the foot paths and visit the beaches. Had a wonderful lunch on ocean view road. Flora and Fauna are amazing. A lot of people seemed to be coming for overnight trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

What an amazing find ... A lovely island just about 30 minutes by ferry from Auckland. I wanted to do some wine tasting and a friend recommended going over and staying on the Island where there are amazing wineries where you can taste great wines. There are tours but I walked around which was no problem and enjoyed the views and the wines. Next time in Auckland I will be back...

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank scotland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Living on the GoldCoast, there is a well kept secret off Brisbane called Moreton Island and recently P&O have included same on their cruise itinerary.

Waiheke is much more developed with about 8000 locals many of whom commute to Auckland for work. We were told about the island and it's diverse range of holiday options.

Please have a look at some of the things we enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

What a Island just 40 mins from Auckland by Fullers Ferries, not a cheap trip but the coach tour and vineyard stop were great to get the flavour of the island.we alos spent time in Oneroa on the beach after collecting for food from the local shops, a great way to enjoy the area.

Room Tip: Well worth a day trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2008

This hostel experience is definitely the most entertaining I've ever had. First, you have to haul your luggage up the largest hill ever while trying not to die of exhaustion or falling off of a cliff. However, once you're there, life gets entertaining. The people there are interesting and I generally enjoyed my time there.

The staff is friendly and generally interested in where you are from instead of just trying to check you in. In fact, when we got there to check in, there wasn't anyone there. There was a just a note at the front desk with our names on it and what room we were in. It seems like everyone is pretty much on the honor system there because i don't remember if there was a lock on the door to the room or not, but I could be remembering that wrong. When the owner finally arrived after his day job to check us in, he was incredibly nice!

Be prepared to get to know the staff in a short period of time. The owner even chased us from the venue when we left saying "and don't come back". He was kidding of course, and smiling as he said it and that's his humor...which is refreshing!

Noone messes with your stuff in the kitchen and the shared bathroom down the hall is sufficiently clean. There's a great view and a great common room with tv, books, and games to play when it's monsooning on the island (which it was while we were there.)

I think part of the honor system is because there aren't really many people there at one time. We had one whole wing to ourselves. There was 2 other guys and one girl staying there besides us and then there was the staff. We were there late fall/early winter so I'm sure summer is much busier.
Rooms are either double beds or bunk beds.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — the walk up Mt. Everest's twin to get there
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.2 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
#13 of 27 in Waiheke Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Heartsong Retreat
Heartsong Retreat
#2 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Oyster Inn
The Oyster Inn
#3 of 6 in Oneroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiheke Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiheke Island

Property: Waiheke Island
Address: Seaview Road, Onetangi, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 1,249 Speciality Lodging in North Island
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Waiheke Island New Zealand/North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing