We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private stand alone cottage outside of Hawke's Bay”
Review of Big Tom's Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Tom's Cottages
Ranked #596 of 1,286 Speciality Lodging in North Island
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“private stand alone cottage outside of Hawke's Bay”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My girlfriend and I spent two night at Tom's Cottage and had a great experience. The place is classified as a B&B but it is actually a small two bedroom house. The house is secluded and has beautiful views from both the front and the back. The house itself is very quaint with a fireplace and a deck. The kitchen was fully stocked with supplies for breakfast. The house had a rustic feel and was very comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and well cared for. Our hosts were very accommodating and eager to please. Our only quip was there was no service to the unit during the day. The beds were left unmade etc. otherwise it was a great two nights!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed in the small cabin at the lower end of the property. Prepare to be entertained by the abundant wildlife as cows, sheep, goats, and birds without number are very much in evidence. The house commands postcard views of Te Mata Peak and the lovely Tuki Tuki river. With Craggy Range and Black Barn wineries just up the street you can take a break from rustic cooking with absolutely world-beating restaurants and vintages. Or you can just sit in front of the log fire and enjoy lazy mornings at home with farm fresh eggs and bacon. The abundance of fresh-cut flowers and the superb cottage garden are particularly nice. Peace, quiet and privacy are on the menu here. Oh yes, there is a wood-fired hot tub if you dare to take the plunge.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Wholly private location in stunning bush.
Cottage compact but beautifully-appointed, including fully-equipped kitchen (with complementary organic eggs, bacon, preserves and freshly-baked bread) and indulgent bedroom with views over the valley.
Comfortable verandah from which to enjoy the bird-song and setting sun over Te Mata.

Blissful getaway, highly-recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedEnZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed for three days at Big Tom’s cottage and we couldn’t have asked for a more picture perfect setting.

Waking up to beautiful early cloud covered valley, only to be treated to magnificent door step views of Te Mata peak. Ending our days with a glass of wine beside the log fire, was a treat.
The rustic charms of this peaceful retreat was the perfect way to end our stay in Hawkes Bay.

Reliable methods of contact would have completed the experience. Fortunately, good reviews of this place ensured our persistence in trying to making contact, with numerous email attempts bouncing back. As a recommendation, the arrangement of final payment may have been better processed on the day of arrival, as on the day of departure no one available to process our payment. Follow up payment arrangements had to be made upon arrival back home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We booked Tom's Cottage (the small one) for 3 nights of relaxation, food and wine in Hawkes Bay, and were so impressed. The internet booking was efficient but the website doesn't do justice to this amazing find. It was perfectly positioned between the Tuki Tuki river and Te Mata peak, with an uninterrupted view of the peak from the outdoor bath tub! The setting was private to the extent that you could have the bathroom windows wide open for sunshine when having a shower with only the olive grove outside the window.

The hosts were attentive but not intrusive, the breakfast provisions were varied, generous and lasted us for the 3 days easily. Attention to detail was evident with a selection of wine glasses, functional kitchen, plenty of towels, fresh flowers in the rooms and much more.

Overall, we highly recommend this little gem and hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingermegs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

My husband and I stayed in Little Tom's cottage in June. We had traveled all over the North Island of New Zealand and this was our favorite place. The cottage is adorable and has beautiful views of Ta Mata Peak. The owner, Van, is great to have a conversation with. He brings a basket of breakfast items over so you can cook a delicious breakfast in the cottage. The dog, Tui, was a lot of fun. There is even an outdoor wood burning bathtub. I wish we could have stayed a lot longer. This place is awesome!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonJoviGroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Island hotels
367.6 mi away
Crab Cove
Crab Cove
#494 of 1,286 in North Island
17 reviews
344.6 mi away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#9 of 204 in Northland Region
233 reviews
164.3 mi away
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 42 in Taranaki Region
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 mi away
Thornton Lodge Motel
Thornton Lodge Motel
#53 of 73 in Hawke's Bay Region
19 reviews
99.6 mi away
Hikurangi StayPlace
Hikurangi StayPlace
#64 of 108 in Manawatu-Wanganui Region
10 reviews
148.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Homestead B&B
#198 of 259 in Waikato Region
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Tom's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tom's Cottages

Property: Big Tom's Cottages
Address: 116 Matangi Road | Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #596 of 1,286 Speciality Lodging in North Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Tom's Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Big Tom's Cottages New Zealand/North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing