We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great Stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Thanks again for another excellent night, excellent room with super king size bed, all very clean and tidy, Restaurant meal was awesome, Staff very helpful AAAAAAA+++++++

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traindriver129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    399
    250
    70
    31
See reviews for
157
412
93
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel for five nights while exploring Auckland. The location is great, my room was very quiet. I had an apartment style room with a king size bed. The size of the room was great for one person, but the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on! The bedding was old and there were two old duvets on the bed with a sheet on top and one on the bottom in order to make it look like a king size duvet. The staff were very helpful when my neighbour was smoking in his room throughout the night and attended to it immediately. I think this hotel is good for a quick night or two in Auckland but not a long stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kstugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The best thing about the room was the comfortable bed to sleep on. The room itself was clean, with modern appointments. The main thing that detracted from the experience was the shower began to flood due to the outlet being blocked by an enormous wad of hair. Heating in the room was via a small fan heater that was effective. A certain amount of room was used in the seating area by a large and somewhat cumbersome free-standing air conditioner unit. The television had a limited range of channels with poor reception on some. As a sports follower this was a bit of a downer.
Staff at reception were friendly but when mention was made of the shower problem the staff member had difficulties understanding what the problem was. Fortunately another staff member came to their aid and understood the problem and said that they would draw the matter to the attention of management.
The rooms do not have a view to speak of but are in reasonable proximity to Queen Street and the Sky Casino (where I managed to catch the game I wanted to see).
Overall, once passed the problem associated with the shower and television reception, the hotel could be described as an adequate place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed for two nights on Queen's Birthday weekend, mainly to attend shows and inner city functions. The hotel is perfectly adequate for such a stay. Room was tiny, but very modern, clean, with a very comfy bed, and great shower. We did not go for a view, or any other function than a bed for the two nights, and the hotel was ideal for this. Price was fair, and values was OK as other hotels in the CBD would be highly priced in comparison. Breakfast was only adequate. Room quietness was disturbed at times by corridor noise. Staff were helpful, efficient and friendly.
Our needs were met.

Room Tip: Higher floors seemed quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The location is good, probably not the best if you only want to see the inner city for a few days. But its absolutely no problem to explore everything on foot and there are quite a few very nice places for breakfast on the way to the centre. We did not take the breakfast in the hotel so I cannot tell anything about it, the restaurant did not look very inviting though. We had a studio room with kitchen (that we never used), it was spacious, clean and the staff was helpful. No complaints really. There is no great view from any of the rooms I guess so if that is what you are after choose another hotel. It is nothing special but for the price far more than o.k. and it is very easy to get there from the airport with the airbus service, there is a station not far from the hotel. I would book it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chr_nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This just an all round average hotel. It was OK for a short stay and nice and close to Sky city if your going to Auckland for a show or gambling.
I wouldn't stay here again unless it was just a night for work or something as it's pretty average all around.
You could hear all the noise from the hallway in our room - which one morning woke me up - we were also woken once by room service opening the door (which was probably our fault for forgetting to lock the door as we had a late night).
Bed was two joined singles and pretty uncomfortable. Also pretty mild temperature unless you turned the heaters on.
Bathroom was tiny and the shower was a little dirty. They don't seem to have a gym - but I noticed that they had a flyer for a church service... that runs quite a few times a week - unsure of the religion.
I'm kind of surprised its rated as 4 stars everywhere - as this is absolutely a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gold_Hodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I slept in this hotel on 14 may 2012, room Standard 3 stars hotel services. Standard breakfast menu. Small lobby. No free wifi internet access. Nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing