We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great central location. We were able to walk to the harbor, wintergarden, bus stop half a block down that took us to zoo, convenience store close. 2 blocks away from sky tower.
Hotel itself is very clean, modern, and incredibly quiet. Never heard another person during our stay. Bed was just ok, definitely good enough. Black out curtains and empty fridge. Car park is 25$/day. Great water pressure and super hot water. You get an hour free wifi/ day, but it kept dropping off (only 2 bars). Aircon was a little weird, the dirt night it ran constantly, but didn't feel that cold, next night it was cooler, but kept coming on&off and it is loud!
Overall, I would stay here again. Very reasonable for a clean central place!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElKochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

The room is bad, no proper ventilation, it is like a storage room with a bed, the toilet stinks even if it is clean. Not worth for 4 star rating. The only good thing about this hotel is their location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hibang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

For the price this hotel met my expectations. It was simply furnished with a comfortable bed and a large window with a fair outlook from the top floor. The tele had a great range of channels but the tv aside it was right in the heart of the beautiful city and marina area of Auckland. Lift access is quick... but parking is not so cheap.
Overall the service was courteous and at times charming.
Give it a go if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Room was 125 NZD but parking is another $25 this was a walk in off the street price, could have found a cheaper deal for all day parking, but the hotel parking is secure and easy, with good lift access up from basement so worth a few dollars extra. Our room was fine, but had to ask to be moved as one half of the mattress had collapsed, this was dealt with efficiently and without any argument. Easy walk to the Sky tower, and a bit further to Albert Park, you need to be fit to walk down to the Harbour and back from here, we used our car to get to most attractions where we were able to park easily. Cleaning of our room was exceptional, I think perhaps some of the comments have been taken on board, certainly we saw no evidence of poor cleaning. Did not use restaurant, but good Italian just past the Sky tower 5 mins away.
Found the desk staff responded well to a nice smile and polite attitude, very busy hotel, and 24 hr desk so it is not an easy job. Lounge on ground floor had useful attraction booth with interactive map, plus there were street maps to borrow.

Room Tip: High floors probably quietest choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firstclassflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We arrived the 7 and we left the 11 of january 2013. We had a bad experience in this hotel ! I think, one of the dirtyest hotel that we ever seen in New Zeland.
It start with the elevator...dirty on the floor and the doors..and than the room even worst.. we found cockroach in the kitchen, the pillow (not the cushion cover) was yellow color and we found a blood stain..terrible...and the carpets smells very badly.............
I think that the problem are not the cleaning lady!
The location is quite good and also the staff is frendly...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moog83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Lovely hotel with very helpful and accomodating staff. Clean and well equipt rooms, comfy beds and great shower (nice and powerful). Good TV with lots of channels. Short walk into down town auckland and the marina.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellybabycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I booked this Hotel on Agoda after I'd arrived in downtown Auckland and discovered that the Backpackers I thought I was going to stay at had not processed my booking properly.
Lucky me, because I'll be staying at the Auckland City Hotel from now on. Its convenient location is great - just a few minutes walk from the Aotea Centre and Queen St. There's a couple of convenience stores close by if you need some extra nibbles.
The hotel is quiet, friendly, clean and well-run. Its value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kamahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#36 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £73 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing