We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small hotel with a good room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Like the hotel but the breakfast is so so and sometimes we need to wait cause the food is need a reload. The room is ok and the location is near korean convience store down of the hotel and some indian food around there. U can see skycity from here and easily walk to it. An good option hotel but really have to improve the breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oline_widi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
There are newer reviews for Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Hi, we have just spent a one night stay in a double room on the 3rd floor. It's a fairly basic hotel but it looks like they have laundry facilities (we didnt use them), it was clean and it had a comfortable bed and they had nice fluffy feather pillows. We just parked on the street and it was fine overnight (there was no parking costs or restrictions on a Sunday). We would stay there again for an overnight stay.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Ngaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A one night stay in Auckland, one double room plus a second room with 2 beds. All in all it was exactly what we were looking for. The only odd thing was requiring our car keys and our car was moved overnight.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on a higher floor as they are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tuisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Having stayed two nights here I am still unsure as to whether this is a hotel or long term student accommodation. While our stay was 'fine' we could certainly have found better accomodation for the price. On arrival the reception is a rather drab grey entrance which is merely functional and certainly not welcoming it appealing. Painted in two tone grey with no windows and no place to sit / relax it appeals as a two star motel might. We were required to hand over our car keys as parking is very limited and they constantly shuffle the cars around in order to get cara in and out. Ours was in a different position each time we went to use it. The hotel is large with around 10 floors, each decorated again in drab two tone grey with little or no decoration; it's that student accomodation feel again. Floors 3, 6, and 9 offer coin operates laundry facilities (something I've never found in a hotel of this supposed class) and all rooms appear to overlook a car park and a block of apartments. Our room was equipped with a king bed, sofa bed, and kitchenette. The kitchen was what swayed us as with small children we wanted the flexibility and we weren't disappointed. It was clean and functional - though only 2 if everything was provided - a real pain in a supposed 4 person room. The room furniture was new and well presented though the room itself lacked decoration and had a lot if dead space. Much of that space was filled with a portable heater and a huge portable air conditioner fixed into a permanent position in one corner. The hotel has no other form of temperature control which is really bizarre, so it all felt quite haphazard and like an afterthought. The bathroom, like the rest was clean and new but lacked space to put anything, even our toilet bag with tooth brushes had nowhere to go. It was certainly big enough but emphasis was again on plain functionality rather than design and appeal. Then that sofa bed; thankfully our children fitted but for anyone larger than a small child it is definitely for a single person. Thus our four person room was really only adequate for three. I am guessing that the sofa isn't used so much as when we opened it we found the remains of a previous occupants meal and some if their clothing; the only time cleanliness came into doubt. Finally the advertised sports facilities: our children wanted to use to the pool. Unfortunately the hotel has no facilities, but does have an agreement with a nearby gym. There is no option to head to a pool from your room as you have to leave the hotel to get there. Hence we lost out. In the end I wouldn't stay here again as there is much better available equally well located and at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ACNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Auckland City Hotel. It is very close to everything and is only a short walk from Sky City and the CBD. The rooms were very tidy but the only issue was the shower was playing up in our bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Our queen sized room was clean and comfortable. Quick to warm up with the portable heater provided. The location of the hotel was great, approx 5-10min walk from Queen St bus stop (if catching the airport shuttle bus into the city), 5min walk to sky tower or 10min walk to the wharf!
Staff were helpful and friendly, even helped us out with free wifi and car parking!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in June 2013 for three nights. It was our first visit to Auckland, and we're from the U.S. This hotel has the PERFECT location for getting around Auckland City. There's no need to drive anywhere, really. But if you must leave the City, the motorway is within two blocks. Underground parking is available at this hotel, but it isn't free. Queens Street (the shopping district) is just a few blocks over, and there are tons of eateries in the area. The bus terminal, the ferry, a shopping mall, a police station, grocery store, currency exchange, Starbucks, everything is right nearby in walking distance.

The hotel is clean and updated, and there is a Malaysian restaurant (The Mustard Seed) right off the lobby. Prices at the restaurant are reasonably priced (well I found NZ to be quite expensive for food in comparison to the U.S.). The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The only issue we had at this hotel was that street noise can be heard in the rooms, and our room was cold. Our room was on the fourth floor with windows facing Cook Street. At upwards of 10 p.m. we could hear traffic, and on one night there was street cleaning with all of the leaf blowers making noise. That was horrible. The traffic noise subsided after about 10 p.m. each night. It was winter, and it seemed that even with the windows closed the noise and cold air just came right through. I don't know if the glass is double paned, but if it is, that hotel could use better seals around the windows, and the City shouldn't allow street cleaning to take place around 9-10 p.m. right next to a hotel.

The suites are equipped with a small kitchenette, complete with stovetop, microwave, cooking utensils and cutlery, pots and saucepan, mixing/salad/serving bowls, dishwashing liquid and drain pan. That's a plus since it can be far less expensive to prepare your own meals than to eat once at a takeaway in NZ. Hotel guests have use of a gym that's nearby (for anyone needing to tighten up that body a bit), and I think the gym has a pool. WiFi is also available for a charge.

Overall, it's a great place to stay, and I'd stay there again in a heartbeat whenever traveling back to NZ. Voila!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc_Asellus_Borealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £66 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing