We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I had a light bulb that wasn't working and I had to call the front desk to get it fixed. It only took 5-10mins until someone showed up and helped me change the light bulb with no extra charges or anything. I also had to check out earlier than planned. The staff there was very helpful and willing to refund the full amount of the nights I prepaid but won't be staying for. The hotel room I had was very clean and it was very comfortable. It also had a heater handy inside the room. I must say, the wi-fi internet was extremely expensive so I ended up not using it. There was a kitchen in my room and it came with a lot of utensils and pots.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergmann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

very bad customer service, forgot that we paid for breakfast, looked at me and my partner like we had done something wrong the entire time, one person said hello toys the entire time we were there for four days, said there is a gym but its not in the same complex, very bad parking facilities stay clear even if they have a good deal!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Clean room and good value, and location is not too bad. The only complaint about the room was the fact that our room was missing a shade/curtain though so sleep quality wasn't that great because the street light and light from neighbouring building streamed through. Not much in terms of ambiance but if you're spending just a night, you won't mind it. Hotel staff are not super friendly but certainly efficient, it's no different from other hotels in large cities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplefrog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

OK place, tidy and presentable and good for 1 night. Have stayed in nicer & larger rooms for the same place else where around the city centre so wouldn't stay here for more than 1 night again.
Friendly staff thou and good location

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I did get an EXCELLENT deal for the room I was in, plus I received an upgrade on arrival ( Which as pointless as it gave an extra queen bed when I was a solo traveller).

This place had too many bad vibes about it, and most of them were spot on.

Firstly, within the guest comments the only thing I'd noted before my booking was that it is IMPERATIVE that WiFi works in my room. This never happened, and I spent about 3 hours trying to reconcile with the staff on what to do..eventually it was fixed..with much troublesome effort.

Upon arrival, I found the (Malaysian?) lady at the front to be abrasive and insouciant. Staff seemed to treat me as more of a hindrance than a customer. They were not particularly helpful on advising what to do /where to go in Auckland as it was my first time here in almost 11 years.

The room itself was average. The bathroom was very small, and as another user mentioned, the water actually leaks into the kitchen area (and as a result I almost slipped at one point).

There were far too few amenities..all I had was a tiny bottle of soap!

I wouldn't stay here again- which is why i will spend the final night in the rydges- however, the value and location are probably worth the $$ if you want a cheap hassle-free sleep over.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keegan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great location for staying near the CBD, right near the Sky Tower. Annoying having to hand car keys in overnight and $25 is a little pricey for parking. We picked a standard room which is starting to look a bit dated, net curtains a bit dirty, door needs painting etc. BUT, perfectly fine for one night at the price you pay and had good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fi_d_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A better location than we'd imagined from simply looking at the Auckland city map. Very close to the InterCity bus terminal, Sky City Tower, iSITE, etc., and a comfortable walk from the wharf. Only minor problem is that it's near the top of an ancient volcano, so no matter where we walked it was up hill on the way back.

Nice room at a good price; it suited us better than a luxury hotel. The staff were (was?) friendly and helpful, especially when we arrived way before normal check-in. A little noisy a couple of times ... we had the room on our floor closest to the elevator. Internet connection was not free ... it seemed a little expensive so we went out to one of the many free WiFi locations nearby.

We look forward to coming back here for six more days next week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down the hall, not close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
952 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#41 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £77 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing