We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & simple place in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Whole day parking at the hotel carpark is charged at $25. Beds were shaky & matteress was soft. Otherwise, clean and proper. Breakfast variety was quite limited. On the day that we were there, they served Asian breakfast. Quite tasty, but not fantastic. Would recommend if you want a place in the city!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aqid710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

I chose this hotel based on price and reviews on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed at all. It was excellent value for money. The counter staff were very helpful. The hotel is in a convenient location. The room was very clean and the furnishings neat as well as comfortable. I slept on the sofa bed as there were three of us - it was comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Auckland City Hotel is well located in the CBD, around the corner from Sky City and Queen St and a short stroll from the excellent food and activity of the harbour area. The room was large with an excellent and extremely comfortable king sized bed and the convenience of a kitchenette. The in hotel Malaysian restaurant was very reasonably priced and the food was delicious. All in all this hotel is well located, comfortable and extremely good value for money. The only negative was the lack of engagement from reception staff. Whilst they did what they had to do, they did it without a smile and never attempted to go above and beyond to make the guest feel important or welcomed.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NT2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Not a fancy hotel by any means, in fact it has a budget feel on entry rather than the four star it claims. But the staff are friendly and efficient. We arrived early and the room wasn't ready so they gave us a bottle of wine. A faulty light was attended to promptly and with a smile. Our suite was clean, comfortable and quiet. We slept well. Didn't try the restaurant or bother with breakfast. Our overall impression was of a smart and slick operation that provided good value for money. The hotel is very well placed in the city centre. We have no hesitation in recommending the Auckland City Hotel. We'll be back!

Room Tip: If you have a family, the suites are a great choice. Ours was on two levels, which gave adults and...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The good points: 1. the hotel was only 5 minutes walk to Aotea Centre, where we were attending a concert. 2. the room was fairly clean. 3. the room was quiet. 4. the staff in The Mustard Seed restaurant were lovely & friendly & the lunch we had was delicious (breakfast wasn't so great though - chicken bacon is not nice at all).
The not-so-good points: 1. it's not what I thought we were getting. On reading reviews, I thought I was booking a nice hotel as a treat for my husband and me, but as another reviewer has already said, it was ok for one night. Had we been staying longer, we would have moved elsewhere to make the most of our rare trip up to Auckland. 2. the water pressure in the shower was poor. 3. checkout is at 11am, however the cleaner was already in our room at 9:45am when we got back from breakfast. 4. although the location worked out perfectly for us because of the proximity to Aotea Centre, it's not an area of Auckland City I'd stay in by choice again. If I could rate this hotel two & a half dots I would.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaBanana17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel and enjoyed my stay. It is centrally located and minutes from Queen St. Room was cleaned everyday and new towels were given daily. Bed was comfortable and hotel was quiet. Cleaning staff were excellent! Great movie channel for the nights when you didn't want to go out. Laundry located on three different floors so you could do your own. Restaurant conveniently located on main floor. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: You get one hour free wifi access a day per room (you will need to contact front desk for username a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdngurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed in Auckland for 1 night. The hotel and rooms where basic but clean and has what you need for a night. Well priced for a central hotel in Auckland. Only negative to mention is that it's located close to a homeless shelter and therefore attracts some not so friendly people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AusTraveller_881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £66 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing