We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$232
US$214
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Parnell Pines Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$151
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$184
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$290
US$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tudor Court Motor Lodge(Auckland Central)
US$108
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Heritage Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$229
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$198
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$55
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveller rating
176
469
294
82
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
469
294
82
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalaysian restaurantsky towermustard seedhobson streetroom was cleanqueen streetnew zealandhomeless peopleper dayfree wifitwo blockswithin walking distancecentral locationmini fridgebooked this hotelauckland citysmall kitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is alright for a short city trip to Auckland. The location is quite centrally. Rooms are clean. Windows do not close fully, so in winter it can be cold. Internet is free for one hour. Facilities for tea available in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Where to start?? The room was very tiny with too much furniture and a very large "air cooler machine" with a large vent hose going into the wall. There was no room to put our luggage with the excess furniture. We did manage to stack a few pieces of furniture to provide a little space. The "cooler" machine was very loud and right next to the bed. It did NOT cool the room, but did heat up the wall where the hose went into the vent. We were afraid the wall would catch on fire. The room faced west so the sun made the room very, very hot. Opening the window did not help at all. The bed had a very shabby and dirty-looking comforter on it….in such a hot room! There was one very short towel rack in the bathroom which was inadequate. The bathroom floor edges and behind the toilet needed scrubbing. The WiFi was very very slow but it did work. We found that WiFi in New Zealand to be very slow and very expensive most of the time. We didn't realize this was a precursor of things to come.
Positives: The restaurant was adequate and met our needs for 3 breakfasts and 1 dinner. Nothing special. Location for getting around town was adequate…just kind of a shabby part of town.
We were on a 10 week trip "down under."

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarilynGrandLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We didn't do much research on hotels in Auckland and were arriving late in the evening/leaving early the next day so it was ok for us, but I would pick it as my first choice. Ithink they advertise themselves as a four star hotel, but it certainly isn't more than 2-3. The location was in the 'dodgier' part too, still though walking distance to centre of the town.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Negatives:
Breakfast looked terrible. Wifi only available for an hour unless you pay... Not hotels fault probably. As a European I can't quite get my head around how behind NZ is with wifi. Parking faculty was $25 per night... Bit steep in my opinion.

Positives:
Reasonably priced, safe parking facility, very clean, comfortable bed, great location if you want bars restaurants, sky city etc. The seafront is not far either... We were very pleased with the location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank David R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I wanted a nice hotel (a treat after some less than savoury backpackers) in a central position and this was a good choice. The room was quiet and clean and I - finally - got a good night's sleep! The loan of a complementary bike was a definite plus and allowed me to explore the city. The free Wi-Fi was also a plus as - strangely - this is not standard in New Zealand hotels. It was a bit pricy, but then it was in the city centre, close to transport links and only a 10 minute walk from the waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews