We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Room was tidy, clean and met the basic needs. Location is great - central to everything, right next to Skytower.

Issues began with customer service, as has been pointed out - it is severely lacking. Don't stay here if you want good customer service. The kettle was filthy inside so I called down for a new one, the lady who spoke barely any English assured me one would be sent up. Nothing appeared for 30 minutes, so I called and spoke to a man who sent one up eventually. Basics like good communication (the same language would help) and being actively engaged with customers would be a good start.

My biggest complaint is the parking, $25 a night (which is steep) and there is very limited spots and it is a hassle to get in and out with the door.

Overall, if you aren't driving, it's a good central location. Just don't expect much in the way of customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Generally stay at this hotel for work when in Auckland (booked by company). Rooms are spacious with well equiped kitchenette area.
Fine for work, good location with easy access to motorways.
Reception staff are always super friendly and helpful!

Restaurant - have had breakfast & dinner there, I would opt to eat elsewhere.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni2013roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is alright for a short city trip to Auckland. The location is quite centrally. Rooms are clean. Windows do not close fully, so in winter it can be cold. Internet is free for one hour. Facilities for tea available in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Where to start?? The room was very tiny with too much furniture and a very large "air cooler machine" with a large vent hose going into the wall. There was no room to put our luggage with the excess furniture. We did manage to stack a few pieces of furniture to provide a little space. The "cooler" machine was very loud and right next to the bed. It did NOT cool the room, but did heat up the wall where the hose went into the vent. We were afraid the wall would catch on fire. The room faced west so the sun made the room very, very hot. Opening the window did not help at all. The bed had a very shabby and dirty-looking comforter on it….in such a hot room! There was one very short towel rack in the bathroom which was inadequate. The bathroom floor edges and behind the toilet needed scrubbing. The WiFi was very very slow but it did work. We found that WiFi in New Zealand to be very slow and very expensive most of the time. We didn't realize this was a precursor of things to come.
Positives: The restaurant was adequate and met our needs for 3 breakfasts and 1 dinner. Nothing special. Location for getting around town was adequate…just kind of a shabby part of town.
We were on a 10 week trip "down under."

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarilynGrandLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We didn't do much research on hotels in Auckland and were arriving late in the evening/leaving early the next day so it was ok for us, but I would pick it as my first choice. Ithink they advertise themselves as a four star hotel, but it certainly isn't more than 2-3. The location was in the 'dodgier' part too, still though walking distance to centre of the town.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Negatives:
Breakfast looked terrible. Wifi only available for an hour unless you pay... Not hotels fault probably. As a European I can't quite get my head around how behind NZ is with wifi. Parking faculty was $25 per night... Bit steep in my opinion.

Positives:
Reasonably priced, safe parking facility, very clean, comfortable bed, great location if you want bars restaurants, sky city etc. The seafront is not far either... We were very pleased with the location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank David R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I wanted a nice hotel (a treat after some less than savoury backpackers) in a central position and this was a good choice. The room was quiet and clean and I - finally - got a good night's sleep! The loan of a complementary bike was a definite plus and allowed me to explore the city. The free Wi-Fi was also a plus as - strangely - this is not standard in New Zealand hotels. It was a bit pricy, but then it was in the city centre, close to transport links and only a 10 minute walk from the waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#36 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,275 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £74 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing