We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very central, most reasonable price we could find on short notice. No air conditioning! Molar be machine in the room all night very noisy. Parking $25 but convenient underneath. Restaurant bit weird. Rolls comfortable but one pillow case was quite dirty.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great location. Good to have parking. They did move our car during the night which we were not told they could do. The servicing of the room was strange as one bed was remade but the other one was not. There were rust stains on the base of the shower and the carpet in the stairways needed cleaning. Only value if you can get a good nightly rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 636Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My review would be much the same as whitfield's last month. However, although the vent from the AC went into the bathroom wall it didn't exit into the bathroom. We never used our car in the two days we were there, so leaving the keys behind the desk wasn't a problem. Don't have breakfast in the Resturant though, very expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveB636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

we stayed at the property for two nights. hotel rooms were small but neat and clean...the staff was very helpful in arranging a pick up for us from auckland airport. its a value for money stay and the location was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kamlesh02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

my husband and i stayed here for 3 nights while we were sightseeing in the auckland area. the room and bathroom were clean but other than that, not all that great. we were on the 6th floor and had a view of apartment buildings on all sides. we were charged $25 for parking each night, and had to leave our keys with the front desk and check in and out each time we left and came back. the only air conditioning was a very small unit in the bedroom with a vent that blew hot air into the bathroom every time it was on. really the only reason i would stay here again would be for the location - not even a full block from the sky tower, and a short walk to the harbor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were quite pleased with our stay at this hotel. We got a good rate($90NZD). Our room was quite spacious and very clean. Comfortable big beds. The room had a mini fridge. We received an hour of internet each per day for free and then they charge you. The area is close to town, which is nice. However, it is right across the street from the homeless shelter, so there are some interesting characters walking about. They tend to get a little more active and angry after dark, which makes you walk more briskly to the hotel once you start to get close. But other than that I would recommend this hotel for the value

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Room was tidy, clean and met the basic needs. Location is great - central to everything, right next to Skytower.

Issues began with customer service, as has been pointed out - it is severely lacking. Don't stay here if you want good customer service. The kettle was filthy inside so I called down for a new one, the lady who spoke barely any English assured me one would be sent up. Nothing appeared for 30 minutes, so I called and spoke to a man who sent one up eventually. Basics like good communication (the same language would help) and being actively engaged with customers would be a good start.

My biggest complaint is the parking, $25 a night (which is steep) and there is very limited spots and it is a hassle to get in and out with the door.

Overall, if you aren't driving, it's a good central location. Just don't expect much in the way of customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#35 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
698 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £73 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing