We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great value in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is good value for money. The rooms were well appointed and clean and the location excellent, right in the city. The staff were helpful and we enjoyed our stay there. We would certainly stay there again if in Auckland as it is so central and very well priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    388
    248
    70
    30
See reviews for
152
405
93
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Pulled up outside hotel. Nowhere to park while checking in. Ended up being told there carpark was full and would have to park at Rendezvous Hotel at a cost of $15 for the inconvenience. Staff were not at all helpful and could not understand us. We got hassled to move our car from a clearway rudely. The swimming pool at the Youth Club they had acess to was also closed for maintenance. Would never stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Geordie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Geordie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay and we do apologize for your experience. We do only have limited car-parks at the hotel, and we thought it best to source for an alternate secure car-park close by to give our guests a choice once we are full. So the Rendezvous was chosen due to its locality and the fact that we managed to secure a preferential price for our guests.

As the clearway outside the hotel (4pm-6pm) is strictly enforced by City Council by the issuing of tickets as well as towing away the offending vehicles, our staff sometimes do get quite excited when guest cars are at risk. But we will address their tone of voice so that they would not come across as being rude when warning of this risk.

Finally regarding Youthtown, unfortunately they had to close for emergency maintenance suddenly in January and we were caught off guard. But we are in the process of sourcing an alternative facility, this is being finalized at this very moment and it is likely that the Tepid Baths (with a larger gym and pool compared to Youthtown) will be made available in the near future.

Again, thank you for your feedback so that we can look to improve our service constantly.

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel itself was ok, but should have been billed as 3 stars rather than the 4 star rating we saw when we booked it. While the location was excellent and surrounding neighborhood was very nice, the actual street it was on as a little strange, having a soup kitchen across the street and the actual block was not the most appealing.

The room with queen size bed was adequate, but had no drawers or dresser for unpacking.

The staff was lovely and very helpful. The hotel restaurant was way overpriced and not especially impressive.

Overall the hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spyderjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a full rating for our cleanliness, service, location and value. We do appreciate your feedback regarding the star rating. Our hotel has been rated as a 4 star independently by a ratings agency call Qualmark, who rates the majority of the New Zealand accommodation properties.

We do understand that the Qualmark assessment criteria may be different to that used in other countries, however they will be consistent right the way throughout New Zealand. So a Qualmark 4 star hotel will be similar in quality whether in Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, or Queenstown.

Our location is on Hobson Street, which is exactly where Sky City plans to build their new International Convention Center. So this will be an even busier and business focused part of town once that happens. Also we have worked with and support the causes of Auckland City Mission across the road, they provide support to the under-privileged and we are proud to be associated with them.

Finally drawers are available in our wardrobes for our guests. Again thank you for your feedback allowing us to improve on our services

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We stayed for four nights. The King studio room was large, clean and had opening windows. It was equipped with crockery, cutlery, toaster, microwave, kettle, fridge, safe, all adequate for two people. It was shower only for bath lovers. The position was opposite the Sky City tower but also near the Mission. We used the Malaysian (Mustard Seed) restaurant one evening and it was quite good with large portions and friendly service. The maid service was excellent as she also washed up, which was a real bonus.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank enjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked this hotel mainly for the good value it seemed to offer AND the fact that the bus from Rotorua stops on the other side of the road about 100 metres away . The hotel was really good although we did not eat there , preferring to eat out . However , our room was more than adequate , in size and quietness . The hotel staff are very helpful . If you ask them , they can probably arrange a discount taxi to the airport much cheaper than the official rate . We paid NZ$35 for 2 people , and were punctually collected from the front door . Excellent !

Room Tip: For quietness , ask for a room away from Hobson Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Very central, most reasonable price we could find on short notice. No air conditioning! Molar be machine in the room all night very noisy. Parking $25 but convenient underneath. Restaurant bit weird. Rolls comfortable but one pillow case was quite dirty.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great location. Good to have parking. They did move our car during the night which we were not told they could do. The servicing of the room was strange as one bed was remade but the other one was not. There were rust stains on the base of the shower and the carpet in the stairways needed cleaning. Only value if you can get a good nightly rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 636Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 65 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 65 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 65 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing