We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apollo Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Econo Lodge City Central(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Elliott St Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveller rating
176
469
294
82
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
469
294
82
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalaysian restaurantsky towermustard seedhobson streetroom was cleanqueen streetnew zealandhomeless peopleper dayfree wifitwo blockswithin walking distancecentral locationmini fridgebooked this hotelauckland citysmall kitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

After getting this hotel as a stopover between flights, I was expecting just a barebones bed and bathroom. But I was pleasantly surprised... the room was well appointed and clean - and very comfortable. Location is fantastic for downtown Auckland.
Best of all was the service... I was traveling with a group of 21 students and the staff went out of their way to make us welcome and answer all my queries. Happily recommend this hotel for anyone traveling through downtown Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel is basically a heritage building with a modern 8 storey block at the rear. It is very central and a good place to explore downtown Auckland. It is convenient for the Sky Tower, the Inter City bus station, the shops, Britomart and the ferry terminal. The room was spacious, clean and had everything required though it took us a day to work out how to use the humidifer/cooler. Auckland is a city that does not sleep early so the city noise can be obtrusive and the view is not up to much. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is run by a Malaysian Group and the restaurant is Malaysian cuisine. Breakfast was adequate but limited in choice and self service reached a new interpretation when we had to find plates and cutlery as well as the food. Three star value but could do better with a few more flourishes.

Room Tip: Don't bother about a view. Go for the quietest corner!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The good things: rooms are quite big and the hotel is in a pretty good position, quite close to the city center.
The bad things: the bathroom was not perfectly cleaned and we found many things left from the previous guests in the closets. The noise during the night was unbearable, so much that it was very hard to get to sleep, they should definitely do something about it. Last but not least: the staff (expecially at night) was not very friendly, I don't think they know how to smile, actually.
Disappointing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is good value for money. The rooms were well appointed and clean and the location excellent, right in the city. The staff were helpful and we enjoyed our stay there. We would certainly stay there again if in Auckland as it is so central and very well priced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Pulled up outside hotel. Nowhere to park while checking in. Ended up being told there carpark was full and would have to park at Rendezvous Hotel at a cost of $15 for the inconvenience. Staff were not at all helpful and could not understand us. We got hassled to move our car from a clearway rudely. The swimming pool at the Youth Club they had acess to was also closed for maintenance. Would never stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Geordie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Geordie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay and we do apologize for your experience. We do only have limited car-parks at the hotel, and we thought it best to source for an alternate secure car-park close by to give our guests a choice once we are full. So the Rendezvous was chosen due to its locality and the fact that we managed to secure a preferential price for our guests.

As the clearway outside the hotel (4pm-6pm) is strictly enforced by City Council by the issuing of tickets as well as towing away the offending vehicles, our staff sometimes do get quite excited when guest cars are at risk. But we will address their tone of voice so that they would not come across as being rude when warning of this risk.

Finally regarding Youthtown, unfortunately they had to close for emergency maintenance suddenly in January and we were caught off guard. But we are in the process of sourcing an alternative facility, this is being finalized at this very moment and it is likely that the Tepid Baths (with a larger gym and pool compared to Youthtown) will be made available in the near future.

Again, thank you for your feedback so that we can look to improve our service constantly.

Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews