We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was check in for my group on 28 March 2014. Room are OK, nice and good facilities, but the staff are not friendly, not smile and not really helpful. Please do not deal with one of lady staff (Filipino), she was not friendly and not helpful.

Breakfast very bad, I am from Malaysia and of course expected the best Malaysian food from this kitchen , but it is really disappointing. The fried rice is tasteless, meals not variety and price is quite expensive (NZD20 per head) - not worth it

Bonus for this hotel, good location and not far from Sky city.

Room Tip: Please choose room far from lift, and higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azrul1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    388
    248
    70
    30
See reviews for
152
405
93
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Good location in centre of Auckland City. Nice clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Mostly Chinese tourists when we were there. Menu in restuarant is nearly all Chinese food that is why my heading of 'room only'. Sandwich shops on same street - but try Father Ted's Irish bar for nice meals! Free one hour wifi per person. Overall - pleasant stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimgym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

After getting this hotel as a stopover between flights, I was expecting just a barebones bed and bathroom. But I was pleasantly surprised... the room was well appointed and clean - and very comfortable. Location is fantastic for downtown Auckland.
Best of all was the service... I was traveling with a group of 21 students and the staff went out of their way to make us welcome and answer all my queries. Happily recommend this hotel for anyone traveling through downtown Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The hotel is basically a heritage building with a modern 8 storey block at the rear. It is very central and a good place to explore downtown Auckland. It is convenient for the Sky Tower, the Inter City bus station, the shops, Britomart and the ferry terminal. The room was spacious, clean and had everything required though it took us a day to work out how to use the humidifer/cooler. Auckland is a city that does not sleep early so the city noise can be obtrusive and the view is not up to much. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is run by a Malaysian Group and the restaurant is Malaysian cuisine. Breakfast was adequate but limited in choice and self service reached a new interpretation when we had to find plates and cutlery as well as the food. Three star value but could do better with a few more flourishes.

Room Tip: Don't bother about a view. Go for the quietest corner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerrobert98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The good things: rooms are quite big and the hotel is in a pretty good position, quite close to the city center.
The bad things: the bathroom was not perfectly cleaned and we found many things left from the previous guests in the closets. The noise during the night was unbearable, so much that it was very hard to get to sleep, they should definitely do something about it. Last but not least: the staff (expecially at night) was not very friendly, I don't think they know how to smile, actually.
Disappointing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is good value for money. The rooms were well appointed and clean and the location excellent, right in the city. The staff were helpful and we enjoyed our stay there. We would certainly stay there again if in Auckland as it is so central and very well priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Pulled up outside hotel. Nowhere to park while checking in. Ended up being told there carpark was full and would have to park at Rendezvous Hotel at a cost of $15 for the inconvenience. Staff were not at all helpful and could not understand us. We got hassled to move our car from a clearway rudely. The swimming pool at the Youth Club they had acess to was also closed for maintenance. Would never stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Geordie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Geordie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay and we do apologize for your experience. We do only have limited car-parks at the hotel, and we thought it best to source for an alternate secure car-park close by to give our guests a choice once we are full. So the Rendezvous was chosen due to its locality and the fact that we managed to secure a preferential price for our guests.

As the clearway outside the hotel (4pm-6pm) is strictly enforced by City Council by the issuing of tickets as well as towing away the offending vehicles, our staff sometimes do get quite excited when guest cars are at risk. But we will address their tone of voice so that they would not come across as being rude when warning of this risk.

Finally regarding Youthtown, unfortunately they had to close for emergency maintenance suddenly in January and we were caught off guard. But we are in the process of sourcing an alternative facility, this is being finalized at this very moment and it is likely that the Tepid Baths (with a larger gym and pool compared to Youthtown) will be made available in the near future.

Again, thank you for your feedback so that we can look to improve our service constantly.

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing