We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfort and cleanliness”
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I chose this hotel on the basis of good reviews regardless of it being under a year old under present mangement. I was very pleased with what I got. Out of the blue when I checked in, they upgraded me to a double bedroom suite which was far larger than I needed. My head sank into super soft pillows each night. Every day I returned, my dishes had been washed and packed away. The suite was very clean, and my possessions were not disturbed. At night, it was quiet. I couldn’t hear other rooms and being on the 10th floor, I could barely hear the street. I liked the tv having access to Sky News and Sky Movies amongst other channels. I had no problems with staff.

The location was good, being one block from SkyTower up the top of the hill. If you need cheap transport there, catch the bus from the airport, then get onto the free red City Circuit bus and get off at the tower.

My only gripes were little things. The top of the stairs had nails for the carpet that needed to be better nailed down. I had to close the bathroom door each night due to noise through the ventilation vent. And on two days the cleaner had made everything tidy but had opened both the curtains. Since this was without A/C (as it seems is much of NZ), the place warmed up.The only thing missing was a restaurant which was still "under construction". As a result, there was no food via room service. However the location meant that there was plenty of takeway and convenience stores within a couple of blocks, some open 24hrs.

In my books, it was certainly four star, perhaps with a plus.

  • Liked — quietness, comfort and cleanlieness
  • Disliked — lack of inhouse catering
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    401
    254
    73
    31
See reviews for
159
417
94
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

I had a few days in Auckland before taking off on an extended overseas trip, and needed somewhere I could do some last minute work and also somewhere close to the AK79 reunion gig. This place worked out great.

The one complaint I do have is that I did not know about the $25 a day parking charge until it came time to check out - luckily I only had a car for one day. Other than that, the location was just great, the bed was comfy, the TV was shiny, the bathroom was clean, the staff was friendly.

What else could you ask for? Oh, I know: make the wireless internet a decent price. 60 cents a minute is too much. Luckily, there is an Esquires coffee shop just down the road with free internet, and a very cheap and good internet cafe just round the corner from the hotel, towards Queen Street.

  • Liked — Room price.
  • Disliked — Internet price.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

17th October 2008
I stayed at this hotel with my mother and wasn't expecting to be surprised as little had been said about this place.
Well much to my delight the ecco friendly hotel was clean tidy and refreshing. They have done well with the basics and the astute traveller will appreciate this. I booked at last minute and paid half the price of the rake rate which would be difficult to justify not staying here.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Tui08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

This place is great value for the money. We got a double room on wotif.com for NZ$110/night.

The fit out is new, nice flat screen TV, sure not much of a view and the (new) bathroom is a bit on the small side but for the price you can't complain.

Really central to everything, 7-11 type store right across the road, and yes valet parking is $25 but suited us as we could park in the basement and leave really early for the airport in the morning.

If you are on a budget and can find a good deal on a last minute type website I think this is really good value.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Smallish bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kayy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing