We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money but not without a few niggles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Berkshire, Englang
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value for money but not without a few niggles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

My family and I stayed at the Auckland City Hotel from Oct 11th to Oct 14th 2010. We had a two bedroom suite which was very large and very good value for money. Better still, the hoteliers allowed us into the room earlier than the normal check-in time which was very helpful as we flew into NZ from the UK at 6am and were exhausted.

The suite was well equipped and the washing machine a Godsend. Rooms were however very cold with single glazing and only two plug in heaters for the whole suite. The cleaners neglected to come to the room once without us having to call down and request them. In four days they managed to come to the suite twice and each time we had to nag as kitchen bins needed emptying etc. Our only other negative comment about the suite is that it is lacking somewhere to eat - no kitchen table & chairs but this is a minor niggle as there were two, two-seater sofas.

The hotel is quite central and most places are within walking distance which makes the city easy to navigate from there. There is a small restaurant attached to the hotel which was adequate and food OK.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellsknipe356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    380
    240
    66
    29
See reviews for
144
390
91
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Hotel was an excellent value. For less than US$70 a night we had a room with a full kitchenette. Tons of extra space with a sofa. Good bathroom that was lacking in counter space but we moved the coffee table into it which worked out great. Staff was friendly although English wasn't always the best. Location was good but up a rather steep hill from Queen St which got quite tiring after a while. The biggest fault with the hotel though is that the rooms are FREEZING! Only one little space heater for the big room. I turned on the stove to keep warm while getting ready in the morning. Lobby internet computer was also very expensive as they charged by the megabyte but numberous internet cafes are nearby. Fitness center is not very useful. Overall I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKNY329_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

This hotel was ok, but not great. The room that we had was comfortable. However, the staff at the front desk were not very Knowledgeable about the Auckland area. For example, they were not very familiar with the Bay of Islands. They did try, so I have to give them credit for that.
The cleaning staff were also not very helpful. They were suprised when we wanted our room cleaned each day, which I would expect as a basic requirement.
We also had to pay for internet, which was quite frustrating in 2010.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97133620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

I was in Auckland for business and figured that the Auckland City Hotel would be good enough for a couple of nights, and I was way wrong. The hotel is decent and is located a block away from Sky City Center. My room was small, but ok, and everything was fine until I went to get into bed. First, I notices a huge bedbug on one of the pillows! Then, when I pulled back the sheets to look for more bugs, I saw that the duvet was covered in "bodily" stains. I was totally disgusted, but it was far too late to do anythings. I immediately booked a different hotel for the rest of my stay in Auckland and ended up sleeping on top of the sheets in long pants, socks, and a long sleeve t-shirt.
The next morning when I told the front desk staff the I was leaving due to the bugs and stains, the woman didn't even say "sorry" once and still charged me for the internet use! By the way, they charges almost 30USD for internet access.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Thank-you for your feedback as we do appreciate the opportunity to be able to improve our service from feedbacks like this. We do apologise for the experience you encountered at our hotel and we will endevour to improve our future guest experiences.

Normally our staff would be able to change rooms for our guests (upon availability) if they had found problems that are not solvable immediately. As we have a 24 hour reception, so this can be done at any time of the day/night.

As for the bed bug problem, we have treated affected rooms immediately upon detection and we do have a regular pest control service every 6 weeks as well. So incidents have been few and far between during our 2.5 years of operations, but we will keep a diligent eye out for any potential problems.

We were also in the process of taking our housekeeping service in-house from an outsourced contractor back in October, this ensures that we can have more control over the quality of our service and the cleanliness of our rooms. We apologise for any teething problems during this period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

My husband and I stayed in Auckland for 1 night in preparation for a flight to Fiji the next day. The hotel was very clean and modern with a very friendly staff. They do offer valet parking, but you'll have to go inside of the hotel and ask someone to come out to park the car for you (which was a bit confusing). Our room was small, but the bathroom was nice. For the price we paid, we were perfectly satisfied with the room. The location left something to be desired at night and certainly didn't make us feel safe. If we were staying longer than 1 night, we would've preferred a different accommodation in a different area, but it's good enough for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dapfunk187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Loved the central location of this hotel....everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. The room was simple, but really nice & comfortable. Loved the simple classiness of the bathroom, too. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Would stay here, again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lightsleepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in one of the 2 storey suites. The rooms were fairly nicely furnished, uncluttered and clean, however the bathroom was tiny - especially the shower. Unfortunately there are no views from the windows but the beds are comfortable and the room is nice and quiet with no traffic noise or noise from other rooms. We arrived very late at night and were warmly welcomed and efficiently checked in which was nice. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Our dishwasher stopped working at one stage and someone came up to the room imediately to sort out the problem. The restaurant is also excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artellphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing