We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid the restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

First the positives - this hotel is conveniently located for the Intercity bus station and the rooms were spacious and clean and good value for money. However the Hobson St setting is depressing in the extreme - while the homeless hostel opposite did not make me feel unsafe, it's dispiriting and there are no restaurants or shops other than convenience stores very close by. The room was also exceptionally noisy due to a lack of soundproofing from corridor noise.
The main problem though was the hotel restaurant, Bings. I would strongly recommend avoiding this unless you are very familiar with Malaysian food and comfortable with arguing with waiters. Admittedly the food was tasty. However while I ordered a reasonably priced dish with rice included, I was brought a similarly named and far more expensive dish with the rice charged extra. Similarly with the wine - what I was brought was far more expensive than what I ordered. The starter contained fewer items than advertised on the menu. When I realised what had happened when the bill arrived I was given no choice but to pay because I had consumed the food, even though it wasn't what I ordered. A cheap meal ended up more than 50% more expensive than budgeted for. I was also quite unwell the next day but that might have been a result of lingering rage at being screwed over rather than food poisoning. The restaurant also has all the cosy ambience of an aircraft hanger. Auckland is jam packed full of good Malaysian and other ethnic restaurants - there is no reason to choose the hotel one.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneAdams05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    380
    240
    66
    29
See reviews for
144
390
91
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Pros:
Nice hotel
Friendly staff
Close to Sky tower

Cons:
Rooms were stuffy at times
No air conditioning
Homeless shelter over the street
Hotel restaurant served bad food- especially dinner

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Clean and comfortable, friendly service. Unattractive street but close to downtown and airport bus stop. Good for one or two night stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

We had to stop-over for a night at Auckland after landing from Queenstown at 9 PM and leaving for Bay of Islands at 8 AM the following morning. We chose this hotel as it was cheap and no-frills and well-located

For the price, it was quite decent and had a functional room with all amenities one would need for an overnighter. The only glitch for us was that they didn't have any parking space and so we had to pay them $25 for an overnight parking.

For a short stay like ours, its a good option

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

We stayed here for two nights as part of a trip to New Zealand. The room was adequate with good beds and linens. We had a small sofa that was comfy for reading or watching tv. The air circulation was fine. The bathroom was clean. Towels were in short supply and we had to ask for more. There is no wireless internet and the computer downstairs is not free. There is an internet cafe around the corner.The fitness room is pretty basic. The location is great. The area is like any downtown of a major city with some dodgy areas. We liked that there was a small grocery close by. The kebabs we purchased there were great and a fair price. When you consider what other hotels are charging in the area this is a great deal. We felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

For the price, we thought the Auckland City Hotel was great -- it was a good-looking room with comfortable furniture and pleasant staff (they even let us check in when our flight arrived at 8 a.m.). If you're staying for a few days, you do have to let them know when you'd like your room cleaned, or else the cleaners show up at 5 p.m. The Trip Advisor reviewers who describe the neighborhood as sketchy must live deep in suburbia. It's the downtown of a major city -- actually the university district. If you're familiar with cities you'll immediately sense that there's no danger at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, Englang
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

My family and I stayed at the Auckland City Hotel from Oct 11th to Oct 14th 2010. We had a two bedroom suite which was very large and very good value for money. Better still, the hoteliers allowed us into the room earlier than the normal check-in time which was very helpful as we flew into NZ from the UK at 6am and were exhausted.

The suite was well equipped and the washing machine a Godsend. Rooms were however very cold with single glazing and only two plug in heaters for the whole suite. The cleaners neglected to come to the room once without us having to call down and request them. In four days they managed to come to the suite twice and each time we had to nag as kitchen bins needed emptying etc. Our only other negative comment about the suite is that it is lacking somewhere to eat - no kitchen table & chairs but this is a minor niggle as there were two, two-seater sofas.

The hotel is quite central and most places are within walking distance which makes the city easy to navigate from there. There is a small restaurant attached to the hotel which was adequate and food OK.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellsknipe356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing