We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay! Very friendly and perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Agnes Water
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay! Very friendly and perfect location.”
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The staff here are as friendly and helpful as can be. We asked for an early check-in and as there were no regular rooms available, we were given an upgrade to an executive room, which was comfortable, quiet and lovely. Continental breakfast is included. The hotel is very centrally located and you can walk everywhere. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    399
    250
    70
    31
See reviews for
157
412
93
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Booked one night at the Auckland City Hotel as visiting Auckland for a gig. Reception was friendly and efficient, twin room was on the small-side, but spotlessly clean and well equipped. Beds were very comfortable and our room was quiet which was great for the central city.

The $175 rate included a car park and continental-style breakfast. Breakfast was basic (toast/fruit/cereal/coffee) but there was the option to upgrade to a cooked breakfast.

Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others. Good value, modern little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slinkymalinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Stayed here on three separate occassions in Dec - 23rd (level 2 - standard room), 27th (level 1 - studio with kitchenette) and 29th (upgrade to level 8 - executive room). Although I stayed in three different rooms, I found it difficult to work out what the difference was between a standard and executive room, except that the decor looked nicer in the corridors of level 8.

Location: Arrived there at night, and there wasn't much to do. There is a 24 hour cafe down the road which is handy but the hotel seemed to be in the dodgy area of town. It is located two blocks from the bus terminal and is also close to the casino. It is walking distance from Queens Street where there are some major shops (10 min walk).

Rooms: Clean, fresh, modern. Bathroom has a shower only (which was larger in the studio room). Large LCD tv screen, couch, wardrobe with large mirror. Beds were comfortable and I had my best sleeps while at this hotel.

Internet: $5 for 30 minutes. Go around the corner and there is an internet 'cafe' (where teens go to play games) for $2 for half an hour, $3 for one hour.

Service: They had a variety of staff that could speak different languages which is always helpful for travellers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

First the positives - this hotel is conveniently located for the Intercity bus station and the rooms were spacious and clean and good value for money. However the Hobson St setting is depressing in the extreme - while the homeless hostel opposite did not make me feel unsafe, it's dispiriting and there are no restaurants or shops other than convenience stores very close by. The room was also exceptionally noisy due to a lack of soundproofing from corridor noise.
The main problem though was the hotel restaurant, Bings. I would strongly recommend avoiding this unless you are very familiar with Malaysian food and comfortable with arguing with waiters. Admittedly the food was tasty. However while I ordered a reasonably priced dish with rice included, I was brought a similarly named and far more expensive dish with the rice charged extra. Similarly with the wine - what I was brought was far more expensive than what I ordered. The starter contained fewer items than advertised on the menu. When I realised what had happened when the bill arrived I was given no choice but to pay because I had consumed the food, even though it wasn't what I ordered. A cheap meal ended up more than 50% more expensive than budgeted for. I was also quite unwell the next day but that might have been a result of lingering rage at being screwed over rather than food poisoning. The restaurant also has all the cosy ambience of an aircraft hanger. Auckland is jam packed full of good Malaysian and other ethnic restaurants - there is no reason to choose the hotel one.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneAdams05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Pros:
Nice hotel
Friendly staff
Close to Sky tower

Cons:
Rooms were stuffy at times
No air conditioning
Homeless shelter over the street
Hotel restaurant served bad food- especially dinner

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Clean and comfortable, friendly service. Unattractive street but close to downtown and airport bus stop. Good for one or two night stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We had to stop-over for a night at Auckland after landing from Queenstown at 9 PM and leaving for Bay of Islands at 8 AM the following morning. We chose this hotel as it was cheap and no-frills and well-located

For the price, it was quite decent and had a functional room with all amenities one would need for an overnighter. The only glitch for us was that they didn't have any parking space and so we had to pay them $25 for an overnight parking.

For a short stay like ours, its a good option

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirvaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing