We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Central and Good price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Central and Good price!”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Stayed here on 26 Feb 11, It is very close to the Sky Tower and only $10 for a taxi to the Viaduct. The hotel was clean and the front desk were very friendly and helpful even called taxi's for us. The room was on the 1st floor and for a room with two single beds was very roomy - It did have a City Mission across the road but as long as you don't walk on that side you are fine I felt safe enough.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    387
    247
    69
    30
See reviews for
151
403
93
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

WE stayed one night at this hotel and were upgraded as through our booking agent (agoda.com) we told them we were honeymooners (which we were!). The rooms were very clean and a good size and a good location for seeing Auckland City. OK Hobson Street has a few homeless shelters but so does every city - we felt perfectly safe! good quick service from the reception staff. I would stay again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed here for four nights at the start of the year.

This is one of those hotels that for nearly everything you like there is something that is annoying.

Just some include:
- The mattress is comfortable but the pillows are terrible.
- The air con unit in the room helps cool the room down but the only way to run it during the day was to leave one key to run the power and not get the room cleaned (so that it wasn't turned off) and its too noisy to use at night.
- Its a quick walk into the centre of the city but there are a lot of homeless people hanging around a nearby shelter, although to be fair they were relatively clean and polite.
- The room was clean but for a twin slightly small.
- The bathroom looked clean but there was a slightly weird smell when shut up for a while. My guess is that they dont clean the drains regularly.
- There are some good cafes in Downtown Auckland but its not a direction you would naturally walk in.

The location of the hotel makes it good value and I would consider staying here in mild seasons but not summer (and based on other reviews - not winter).

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elm01au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Place stinks of bad BO, front desk people are worthless and can barely speak english. Parking there is expensive and a complete PITA. You HAVE to double park and turn your keys in, spaces are tight. Bad Location, I wouldnt recommend staying downtown Auckland in general. I gaurantee most the reviews you see that are good are wrote by the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
It is with regret that your recent stay with us was a disappointment. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience that you had encountered. We would always welcome guests to give us feedback during their stay so that we can rectify any faults instantly if possible.

Auckland City Hotel has always maintained that guest services and staff courtesy are of paramount importance to our business. It is through your constructive feedback that we can continuously seek to ensure our guests will have a pleasant and memorable experience staying at our hotel. Your feedback will be looked into and dealt with seriously.

The Auckland City Hotel is a company which values integrity and ethics. We do not condone our staff posting artificial reviews on websites such as Tripadvisor and so we would strongly refute this accusal.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Auckland City Hotel should you visit Auckland again in order for you to experience the level of service that is known among many of our guests. Auckland City Hotel will always maintain its stand to continually seek to improve its services and maintain professionalism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We booked this hotel to burn some air miles that were close to expiry...that is to say it wouldn't have been my first choice in Auckland. However the standard room we had was pleasant enough. The room (714 - a corner room) seemed to be a disabled-access room meaning the bathroom was stepless - i.e. no curtain or frame around the shower etc, but the only real quibble with the bathroom was the complete lack of flat surfaces; there's no space for so much as a toothbrush. The electric kettle also didn't fit under the bathroom tap meaning filling it for a cup of tea was a challenge. The hotel's decor and front desk service were both bland, indifferent and inoffensive. Room was clean. No aircon but not uncomfortably hot despite it being a warm day outside.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes Water
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The staff here are as friendly and helpful as can be. We asked for an early check-in and as there were no regular rooms available, we were given an upgrade to an executive room, which was comfortable, quiet and lovely. Continental breakfast is included. The hotel is very centrally located and you can walk everywhere. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Booked one night at the Auckland City Hotel as visiting Auckland for a gig. Reception was friendly and efficient, twin room was on the small-side, but spotlessly clean and well equipped. Beds were very comfortable and our room was quiet which was great for the central city.

The $175 rate included a car park and continental-style breakfast. Breakfast was basic (toast/fruit/cereal/coffee) but there was the option to upgrade to a cooked breakfast.

Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others. Good value, modern little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slinkymalinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 66 in Auckland
1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 66 in Auckland
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing