We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apollo Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Econo Lodge City Central(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Elliott St Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,054)
Filter reviews
1,054 results
Traveller rating
176
469
294
82
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
469
294
82
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalaysian restaurantsky towermustard seedhobson streetroom was cleanqueen streetnew zealandhomeless peopleper dayfree wifitwo blockswithin walking distancecentral locationmini fridgebooked this hotelauckland citysmall kitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
758 - 763 of 1,054 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Upgraded to best room apparently. Really noisy aircon. Comfy bed. Location a bit seedy

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Stayed here on 26 Feb 11, It is very close to the Sky Tower and only $10 for a taxi to the Viaduct. The hotel was clean and the front desk were very friendly and helpful even called taxi's for us. The room was on the 1st floor and for a room with two single beds was very roomy - It did have a City Mission across the road but as long as you don't walk on that side you are fine I felt safe enough.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Kiwitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

WE stayed one night at this hotel and were upgraded as through our booking agent (agoda.com) we told them we were honeymooners (which we were!). The rooms were very clean and a good size and a good location for seeing Auckland City. OK Hobson Street has a few homeless shelters but so does every city - we felt perfectly safe! good quick service from the reception staff. I would stay again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed here for four nights at the start of the year.

This is one of those hotels that for nearly everything you like there is something that is annoying.

Just some include:
- The mattress is comfortable but the pillows are terrible.
- The air con unit in the room helps cool the room down but the only way to run it during the day was to leave one key to run the power and not get the room cleaned (so that it wasn't turned off) and its too noisy to use at night.
- Its a quick walk into the centre of the city but there are a lot of homeless people hanging around a nearby shelter, although to be fair they were relatively clean and polite.
- The room was clean but for a twin slightly small.
- The bathroom looked clean but there was a slightly weird smell when shut up for a while. My guess is that they dont clean the drains regularly.
- There are some good cafes in Downtown Auckland but its not a direction you would naturally walk in.

The location of the hotel makes it good value and I would consider staying here in mild seasons but not summer (and based on other reviews - not winter).

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elm01au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Place stinks of bad BO, front desk people are worthless and can barely speak english. Parking there is expensive and a complete PITA. You HAVE to double park and turn your keys in, spaces are tight. Bad Location, I wouldnt recommend staying downtown Auckland in general. I gaurantee most the reviews you see that are good are wrote by the front desk.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

It is with regret that your recent stay with us was a disappointment. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience that you had encountered. We would always welcome guests to give us feedback during their stay so that we can rectify any faults instantly if possible.

Auckland City Hotel has always maintained that guest services and staff courtesy are of paramount importance to our business. It is through your constructive feedback that we can continuously seek to ensure our guests will have a pleasant and memorable experience staying at our hotel. Your feedback will be looked into and dealt with seriously.

The Auckland City Hotel is a company which values integrity and ethics. We do not condone our staff posting artificial reviews on websites such as Tripadvisor and so we would strongly refute this accusal.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Auckland City Hotel should you visit Auckland again in order for you to experience the level of service that is known among many of our guests. Auckland City Hotel will always maintain its stand to continually seek to improve its services and maintain professionalism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews