We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Was really glad I stayed here on ponsonby road rather than the CBD. Area has lots of shopping and restaurants. Clean rooms and very friendly owner who gave me several excellent restaurant recommendations (go to williamsons for breakfast I liked it so much I went twice).

Very laid back place, plenty of kitchen space, was clean but showers were a bit dark and shared.

The only drawback was that reception has limited hours I arrived at 6:45 AM and had to wait in the commons room before they came, also when the owner is helping someone else you have to wait. But would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank schistosomiasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    72
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
88
135
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Pros-Within easy walking distance of central Auckland
Interesting old building
Comfortable lounges and well equipt kitchen
Large garden
Cons-Spartan accommodation,a double bed and a rail with a few hangers
Noisy at night,doors banging till the early hours
No separate toilet,all in shower rooms
The only backpackers we stayed in not to provide towels

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartmunro, Manager at Verandahs Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We have checked all doors closures and adjusted closing speeds to ensure a quiet door close.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The beginning was not very hopeful because they got our reservation wrong and all the rooms were booked for that day. So they arranged a room in the brown kiwi (not so good) and drove us there and to make it up to us they gave us the next day for free! Nice room with good beds and clean bathrooms in two very nice old wooden villa's at the edge of the western park. Good kitchen and lounge and you can sit outside in the garden. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaddeus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Verandahs for just the night. We loved the type of house (one of the old fashioned villas) and the fact that the balconies look over Auckland giving you the best view. It's only a ten minute walk from the centre and it's also pretty quiet, considering how central it is. The amenities were all top notch and the owner couldn't have been friendlier, really chatty and telling you everything you need to know.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is an awesome hostel. The rooms are clean, tidy and spacious and the hosts are amazing. I accidentally left my library book at this hostel and when I emailed to see if they had found it they had already rung my local library and had posted the book down. Well beyond the call of duty. I would highly recommend staying here :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary,AB
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for five nights in January. It was the first hostel of our six month trip and it met our expectations. We didn't use many of the amenities in the buildings, such as the kitchen or even the common room. We stuck mostly to our double bed room, and relaxed on the balcony. The location of the hostel is ideal, it's nice and quiet at night but close enough to the downtown core for an easy walk. The owner quoted us 15 minutes to the local grocery store, and 25 to the waterfront. We're fast walkers and it took us a little longer than that, allow for more time since the whole way is up and down hills. The park behind the building is spectacular and Ponsonby road is filled with great cafes and art stores. We used the Inner Link bus to get around town and it was very convenient, as the closest stop was less than a 5 minute walk.

We stayed in the main building on the second level, the room sheets were clean, and there was a good lock on the door. Three bathrooms on the upper level and a single bathroom downstairs, no complaints about the cleanliness and everything was in working order. Our room was very simple, just a bed, a mirror and an empty closet. It suited our needs, but we noticed that some of the other rooms had a shelf, and another had a dresser with a second window.

It's an old house with character, we enjoyed it there. A+ for the location and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two windows, nice for the breeze during the summer. The bathrooms doors tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed in a double ensuite at the beginning of December and we really enjoyed it.

The hostel is located slightly outside of the city center (about 15 min walk) right next to a lovely park. The hostel balconies (verandahs) overlook the Auckland skyline. The location is great - it's quiet and yet you're very close to all the amenities. The garden is great to unwind in.

The hostel itself is comprised of several buildings, all with great character to them.

Our room had a nice fireplace feature, super high ceiling, comfy double bed. It felt more like a stylish B&B than a hostel... The owner was great - very helpful and personable.

We loved the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agatabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.9 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandahs Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Property: Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Address: 6 Hopetoun Street | Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Verandahs Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Backpackers comprises of 2 beautiful Victorian Villa's built in late 1800's and early 1900's, renovated to surpass their original grandeur. Unfortunately our hostel is not suitable for children under the age of 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Verandahs Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing