We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't rave enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria British Colombia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Can't rave enough!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

What a great hostel. Verandahs is right off trendy Ponsonby road, just far enough up the hill to be out of the downtown touristy area but a quick and enjoyable walk to both. The harbour and the Art Gallery and the Museum and even Queen St. The hostel backs on to a beautiful park. If you step out on to the back Verandahs you can see downtown and the Skytower which is lit up like a rainbow at night.
Each room(I've stayed in four so far) has a non working but atmospheric fireplace and there are no bunks. Plenty of toilet/shower combo rooms. The kitchen sitting areas are the best I've seen in any hostel. Hot water on demand for coffee and tea and a filtered cold water tap. The back lawn is quiet and green with lots of trees. Very well decorated.
I'm a happy hosteller

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank katheann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    70
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
85
132
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is probably the best backpackers I've stayed in while travelling. Really clean, airy and friendly atmosphere. Great views of Auckland from the balconies and great location just out of the centre, but near the action on Karangahape and Ponsonby Roads. About 20-25 mins to walk to the waterfront area too.

The owners really care about the hostel and make sure everyone's stay is comfortable. Campbell was very helpful on a couple of occasions. A generally great place for relaxing and meeting people.

It could possibly benefit from a few more social activities, like a BBQ or roast night, maybe a table football tourney evening. Something in-house and chilled.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ-DJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a really high-class backpackers. It's clean - spotless in fact - has large airy rooms, a comfy seating area and a really well-stocked kitchen.

It's a large hostel so attracts a varied crowd: great if you're travelling alone and want to meet some new people/travelling companions.

Campbell the owner is really helpful.

Room Tip: Some of the clubs along the Ponsonby Road can be noisy at weekends - front rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We always stay here when in Auckland. Superb location and excellent facilities. Campbell the owner is very helpful. Very neat to some fine cafes and bars along Ponsonby Rd, cheap eats at the food hall. Easy walk down into the centre of the city and waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bacnzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great hostel, clean with amazing facilities and good vibe. Campbell is very helpful in planning travel throughout New Zealand and seems sincere and genuine. Close to downtown and the 'hip' area of Auckland, Ponsonby Rd. Only complaint is wifi charge is quite expensive, $8/24hrs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherShumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camsmith, Manager at Verandahs Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We have just introduced High Speed Wifi, we also provide $3 for one hour WifFi access in addition to $8 for 24 hours you have mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My experience at Verandah's was average compared to other hostels I've been to but it might be nice for Aukland. It's located in a little outside of Queens street and downtown so I'd imagine it is a bit quieter than other hostels; however, it is right by several nightclubs that are VERY loud on the weekends. The owner is friendly and helpful and the rooms and bathrooms are clean and the kitchen is spacious. Ponsby is a great area for cafes and food. Just a heads up if you are coming in after dark and walking from the bus: K'd road isn't the most pleasant in the evening. It is riddled with homeless people, strip clubs, and prostitutes (which are legal). I figure it is relatively safe but not the most fun place to be wandering around as a solo female backpacker trying to find your way there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camsmith, Manager at Verandahs Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review. Just to reply regarding the noise issue arising from one bar in the weekends. This is not a common occurrence. By 11 pm this bar is required by law to keep all noise to a minimum. It is a rare occurrence that the bar breaks the law. I am aware of the night you are referring to and yes it was unacceptable.
We will ensure this is not repeated.
As to your negative rap regarding Karangahape Road, (K'Rd) , we are not on K'rd but are one street away from it. K'rd has great cafes and shops during the day and at night has a vibrant club scene. It is very popular with Aucklanders day and night and is an alternative to the more upmarket hip Ponsonby Road which we also neighbour.
The uniqueness of our location, we can cater for all persons with different tastes. Please ask us for suggestions for on where to go on K'Rd and we are sure you will enjoy it too .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Verandahs is an excellent place; it's clean, facilities are outstanding, good showers, excellent kitchen to name the just few of the available facilities (car-hire, internet, laundry etc)

This is our second visit & it was better than the last.

Staff very friendly & full of information about the local area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
0.9 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandahs Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Property: Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Address: 6 Hopetoun Street | Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Verandahs Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Backpackers comprises of 2 beautiful Victorian Villa's built in late 1800's and early 1900's, renovated to surpass their original grandeur. Unfortunately our hostel is not suitable for children under the age of 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Verandahs Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing