We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great hostel: perfectly clean (rooms, bathrooms, kitchen, lounge), quiet, confortable beds, VERY HELPFUL staff, big kitchen...they even have a piano in the lounge !
Not too far from the city centre (20 min walk) and close to bus stops

Room Tip: Choose the second building if possible (not the one with reception), more recent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolo_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed in a single room (albeit with two beds) for one night at the end of my trip. The room was clean and spacious enough for me to spread out all of my things and repack comfortably. Didn't really sample any of the common areas besides the shared bathroom down the hall, which was decent enough but fairly institutional.

This hostel has a great location, within 20 minutes of the CBD and Sky Tower and very close to a good strip of restaurants/bars on Ponsonby Road. Verandahs is around a 15-minute walk from the nearest Airport Express stop, but that wasn't too bad.

My only quibbles would be the lack of free wi-fi (although this is a recurring theme throughout New Zealand) and the fact that the reception shuts down rather early at 7 PM. For late arrivals who give advance notice they will provide a code and leave the key in a secure place, although those who want to get online should get to the hostel before 7:00!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed in a single room at Verandahs Backpackers Lodge for two nights when i arrived in Auckland and enjoyed the stay there. The single room isn`t anything special, but it`s clean and got enough room to store and unpack you`re luggage. The Hostel is set in a nice location not to far from the city centre (about 10-15 mins walk) and really close to K`Road an Ponsonby, where some really nice restaurants and good nightlife are located. Still it`s pretty quiet at night so you won`t have a problem getting a good sleep. The owner is very friendly and helpful and can give you some good recommendations about the activities in the area. The facilities are good and the verandah is great to watch the sunset or having a nice view of the Sky Tower.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Nice garden and balconies with beautiful views of the city center and sky tower. Rooms are cozy and I liked the yellow painted wall in my room. Kitchen could be a little more colorful, its quite "bold". Lounge is ok, what I liked most about it were the guitar and the piano. Hostel is clean.
The sunday I stayed at the hostel they had a social night "luck pot": how wanted to join cooked a meal for dinner and shared it with the others.
Wifi is expensive.
Hostel seems to be very safe. Stuff is really friendly and helpful.
Really good location: quiet place, but near to city center, bus stops, K Road and Ponsonby Rd.
Good atmosphere as the hostel is not too small and not too big.
I would recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singGS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

- Good location in Ponsonby
- 12 minutes walk from main street: Queen str
- Friendly staff!
- Clean!
- Medium/big size hostel
- No free wifi
- Enough space and equipment in the kitchen
- Good beds, no bunks!
- New building
- Stayed 2 nights and went back 3 times
- I will be here again.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is the place I would recommend to my friends when staying in Auckland.

We were there for three separate nights and we always felt a kind of relief and comfort when arriving to Verandahs from other hostels in Auckland area.

Pros and cons:

+ nice Victorian building facing the park, including outside area and balconies.
+ close to the city center, next to the Ponsonby road (good eating and shopping)
+ quiet stylish corridors with thick noise-insulating carpet
+ nicely decorated clean rooms, the twin room we stayed in with enough space, the double really spatious
+ well maintained
+ clean showers, big and clean kitchen
+ great lounge in the main building

- some light coming from the corridor to the room through the above-door window, even with drapes on. Just a small issue for light-sleepers like me ;-)

Would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiddler_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

plus: nice location near restaurants (enjoyed thai house in particular).
plus: very well stocked kitchen for a backpackers.
minus: not enough bathrooms/showers. three rooms which contained sink, shower and toilet, so if three people are brushing their teeth thenno one else can shower or use the toilet. for a place this size it creates unreasonable waits.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymoustravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#1 of 131 in Auckland Central
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#15 of 131 in Auckland Central
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#6 of 131 in Auckland Central
525 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#19 of 131 in Auckland Central
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandahs Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Address: 6 Hopetoun Street | Auckland Central, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £17 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Verandahs Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Backpackers comprises of 2 beautiful Victorian Villa's built in late 1800's and early 1900's, renovated to surpass their original grandeur. Unfortunately our hostel is not suitable for children under the age of 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Verandahs Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing