We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel near Ponsonby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Location is spot on - just off Ponsonby Road, with its great collection of shops, cafés and bars.
Parking was better than expected - Verandahs had about 7 or 8 spaces which were free and had no time limit. There is also free, 2 hr parking on the street.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The wifi was quite costly, but found it to be pretty fast and reliable.
Double room was spacious with lots of natural light. The relaxing verandas were a great sun trap.
Bathroom facilities clean and didn't have to wait.
Kitchen large and well equipped, nice lounge area.
Good value for money.
Also, can recommend Freeman and Grey just around the corner on Ponsonby Road - $4 pizza between 12-2pm and 5-7.30pm. They're bigger and tastier than you'd expect for $4!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ailsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My experience at Verandahs was great! The staff was friendly and helpful, the facilities were clean, and the rooms were cozy. The location is outstanding--I wasn't aware before arriving in Auckland just how convenient the Ponsonby locale really is! Verandahs was a short walk for dozens of restaurants, cafes, and bars, as well as a nice walk from the harbor and the Auckland Domain. My only complain was the lack of free wifi, which was somewhat of an inconvenience as a backpacker from abroad. But especially with tons of cafes around, I highly recommend Verandahs!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank EmilyU_runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hostel is really the closest thing to a 'Home away from home' that you'll find in New Zealand. Campbell and his staff work very hard to maintain the highest standards here.

I stayed here a number of times between September 2013 and May 2014 while I was working and traveling in New Zealand.

Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Bathrooms are excellent and also very clean.

The hostel offers a spacious kitchen to prepare meals in. Don't forget to wash your dishes as they don't wash themselves ;-)

The garden is lovely to relax in when the sun is shining. And when it's not -you can relax in one of the two lounges making new friends or playing the PianoGuitar, as Campbell calls it.

You will love this hostel. But book early as it's extremely popular.

Room Tip: Room B has the best wifi coverage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have already been there 3 times. Around 30 nights in total. Well located, close to ponsonby street, but very quiet and peacefull. Jouxting a big park with huge trees. The manager, Campbell and his staff are always friendly and helpfull... Defenitly the best backpaker in Auckland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great hostel: perfectly clean (rooms, bathrooms, kitchen, lounge), quiet, confortable beds, VERY HELPFUL staff, big kitchen...they even have a piano in the lounge !
Not too far from the city centre (20 min walk) and close to bus stops

Room Tip: Choose the second building if possible (not the one with reception), more recent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolo_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed in a single room (albeit with two beds) for one night at the end of my trip. The room was clean and spacious enough for me to spread out all of my things and repack comfortably. Didn't really sample any of the common areas besides the shared bathroom down the hall, which was decent enough but fairly institutional.

This hostel has a great location, within 20 minutes of the CBD and Sky Tower and very close to a good strip of restaurants/bars on Ponsonby Road. Verandahs is around a 15-minute walk from the nearest Airport Express stop, but that wasn't too bad.

My only quibbles would be the lack of free wi-fi (although this is a recurring theme throughout New Zealand) and the fact that the reception shuts down rather early at 7 PM. For late arrivals who give advance notice they will provide a code and leave the key in a secure place, although those who want to get online should get to the hostel before 7:00!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed in a single room at Verandahs Backpackers Lodge for two nights when i arrived in Auckland and enjoyed the stay there. The single room isn`t anything special, but it`s clean and got enough room to store and unpack you`re luggage. The Hostel is set in a nice location not to far from the city centre (about 10-15 mins walk) and really close to K`Road an Ponsonby, where some really nice restaurants and good nightlife are located. Still it`s pretty quiet at night so you won`t have a problem getting a good sleep. The owner is very friendly and helpful and can give you some good recommendations about the activities in the area. The facilities are good and the verandah is great to watch the sunset or having a nice view of the Sky Tower.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 134 in Auckland Central
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#15 of 134 in Auckland Central
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#5 of 134 in Auckland Central
539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#1 of 134 in Auckland Central
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#24 of 134 in Auckland Central
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandahs Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Address: 6 Hopetoun Street | Auckland Central, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £17 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Verandahs Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Backpackers comprises of 2 beautiful Victorian Villa's built in late 1800's and early 1900's, renovated to surpass their original grandeur. Unfortunately our hostel is not suitable for children under the age of 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Verandahs Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing