We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a waste of a great location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Eden Motel

Mount Eden Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Eden Motel
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a waste of a great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This motel is in a great location - not far from the city, walking distance to Auckland University Epsom campus and the Mt Eden shops nearby.
The rooms are old, tired and absolutely lacking. This could be such an incredible complex. It probably gets fully booked due to location, and with some attention it could be such a pleasant place to stay, instead as I arrived I said to my colleague "I already feel dirty".
One room had a pair of men's shorts (underwear) hanging off the shower window. Only shower I've seen in years with two taps and a curtain. Limited bathroom supplies. Didn't believe the note about waiting 20 mins between showers - I mean, really that is ridiculous. Coffee plunger there but only a tiny jar of instant coffee provided,no varieties of tea, which is unusual these days. Towels were old and worn. Half of chain lock security on doors, so useless. Big old tv's and when you changed to SKY the figures were distorted or you got what looked like a blizzard. Pool needed a good clean as well. Owners (I assume they were as if they were appointed managers they'd be looking for new jobs) were so, so - not over welcoming and were most unhelpful to some guests arriving who had English as a second language. I think they've just had enough and it is reflected in the accommodation which is unfortunate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

The place is falling apart with handles falling off oven doors, fridges etc. The two bedroom apartments have no ceiling on the first floor, the second bedrooms did not have a door so you can hear everything going on in every room. The landlord and landlady severely lack people skills. We were singing Christmas songs on Christmas eve at 6.30 pm and the landlady came rushing out ranting and raving. I thought she was going to have a heart attack!
Do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stopped here for one night after arriving late into Auckland.
The Motel is very old and tired and in need of some TLC.
Mt Eden is a vibrant location and the Motel should move with the times.
There were a number of cob webs in each room which wasn't appealing at all.
One night was more than enough here.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in the 3 bedroom motel unit which was perfect for 4 adults and 3 small children aged 4, 2, and 1. Everything was clean and tidy and plenty of room. Our BIG issue was that the tennis courts, which backed onto our unit, had their floodlights on both nights we were there (Thursday night and Friday night) until 10pm! Luckily one of the bedrooms was on the other side of the lights, so my 4 and 2 year old could get some sleep. But the other two bedrooms were flooded with light until 10pm. The curtains did not block out all the light, and the top louvre style windows had NO CURTAINS AT ALL! So our 1 year old in the portacot in the bedroom with us had shonky sleeps both nights (and no we couldn't put him in another room). This would have been very useful to know before booking. And when we mentioned it to the owners they were less than concerned.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louisamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Reminds me of my grandmas, cosy. Tv was the worst thing, like grandmas.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for one night as I went to All Blacks game at Eden park. We stayed in biggest unit with my dad and his partner and my sister, plenty of room. Unit was really spacious and clean and the managers/owners were very helpful.
Great hotel to stay at if going to a game at Eden park, just take bus on balmoral rd to game.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allblacksPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

A well-kept secret! Mt Eden is tucked away on Balmoral road and offers clean, quiet and comfortable accomodation. The owner provided free wifi access which was very much appreciated. I found this place by accident as I was hoping to stay with family but couldn't they had a cat I was allergic too. Mt Eden was the nearest guest acocomodation in the area.

So glad I found this place :) I went for a cheaper room which didn't have a stove but still had a kitchenette with microwave and food preparation area. All the utensils were provided as well.

Definitely beats the overpriced, noisy and cramped accomodation options in the city.
Had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 is quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nobodypq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
1.3 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#59 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#42 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cornwall Park Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ranfurly Evergreen Motel
0.8 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#2 of 8 in Epsom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dukes Midway Lodge
Dukes Midway Lodge
#61 of 106 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Eden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Eden Motel

Property: Mount Eden Motel
Address: 47 Balmoral Road, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Eden Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Eden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Eden Hotel Auckland Central
Mount Eden Motel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing