We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value. Poor quality!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Eden Motel

Mount Eden Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Eden Motel
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor value. Poor quality!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Tired, not overly clean. Hot water appalling. Ran out after 2 min shower. At $195 a night for 3 adults and a 4 year old very poor value. No hairdryer. Heater barely adequate for size. Would never stay again.
After complaining was offered another unit but no doors on bedrooms. Owner did have a wee clean while we were out and put some flowers in. But not very happy with overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
13
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We needed accommodation for 2 grownups and 5 children under 12. Mt Eden Motel was able to provide us with a three bedroom unit at a reasonable cost sleeping up to 8. Whilst it's not the flashist motel it was absolutely perfect for our needs. Situated 10mins from everywhere we needed to be, vector arena, the zoo, motat etc.,. Three bedrooms, bath and shower, large kitchen with everything you need including the pantry. Large living and dining area. There's also a spa and swimming pool, it's off the road and has lovely hosts to boot. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to families everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

happy to recommend this motel. we wanted somewhere to stay the night and nothing more, it fulfilled that requirement exactly. Good pricing for what we received. Handy to the area we wanted and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

On the plus side - plenty of space in the 3 bedroom apartment, a very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, resonable parking, attentive staff who deliver your continental breakfast the night before. No real road niose. Most quiet if you are in a room facing the back. Great value for money. There is a full washing line if you need to do washing. Shower and bath in room, heaps of towels provided. Very close to Mt Eden and main roads to get into and out of Auckland

On the downside: tight parking if you have a large vehicle, the palce is a bit tired decor wise, the pool is small, and our bathroom floor was not kept the cleanest.

Room Tip: One facing the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susiecampgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This motel is in a great location - not far from the city, walking distance to Auckland University Epsom campus and the Mt Eden shops nearby.
The rooms are old, tired and absolutely lacking. This could be such an incredible complex. It probably gets fully booked due to location, and with some attention it could be such a pleasant place to stay, instead as I arrived I said to my colleague "I already feel dirty".
One room had a pair of men's shorts (underwear) hanging off the shower window. Only shower I've seen in years with two taps and a curtain. Limited bathroom supplies. Didn't believe the note about waiting 20 mins between showers - I mean, really that is ridiculous. Coffee plunger there but only a tiny jar of instant coffee provided,no varieties of tea, which is unusual these days. Towels were old and worn. Half of chain lock security on doors, so useless. Big old tv's and when you changed to SKY the figures were distorted or you got what looked like a blizzard. Pool needed a good clean as well. Owners (I assume they were as if they were appointed managers they'd be looking for new jobs) were so, so - not over welcoming and were most unhelpful to some guests arriving who had English as a second language. I think they've just had enough and it is reflected in the accommodation which is unfortunate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

The place is falling apart with handles falling off oven doors, fridges etc. The two bedroom apartments have no ceiling on the first floor, the second bedrooms did not have a door so you can hear everything going on in every room. The landlord and landlady severely lack people skills. We were singing Christmas songs on Christmas eve at 6.30 pm and the landlady came rushing out ranting and raving. I thought she was going to have a heart attack!
Do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stopped here for one night after arriving late into Auckland.
The Motel is very old and tired and in need of some TLC.
Mt Eden is a vibrant location and the Motel should move with the times.
There were a number of cob webs in each room which wasn't appealing at all.
One night was more than enough here.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
1.3 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#43 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#2 of 8 in Epsom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.5 mi away
ASURE AT Eden Park
ASURE AT Eden Park
#1 of 2 in Mount Eden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Eden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Eden Motel

Property: Mount Eden Motel
Address: 47 Balmoral Road, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Eden Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Eden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Eden Hotel Auckland Central
Mount Eden Motel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing