We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bad choice” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Eden Motel

Mount Eden Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Eden Motel
Ranked #51 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bad choice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We walked in and booked a room for two of our relatives from overseas about two weeks before their arrival. The reception lady promised a room for us at that time and also took our credit card number for the reservation. However when we called them again in the morning on the guests' arrival day to reconfirm the room, we were told the room was already occupied by other people. No reason given to why the room was rented to others at all and the reception lady was so irresponsible for their fault but just asked us to find another place to live. We don't know how their booking system works but this motel is so unprofessional and the staff don't consider their customers at all. Definitely will not recommend this motel to any of our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grace Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
186 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here during our weekend to the NRL 9's at Eden Park, were abit worried about what we would find when we turned up after reading previous reviews. Place is pretty run down and old school but hey we were only there too sleep. It is a short walk to the bus stop (airport express) on Mount Eden Road and close to shops & cafes. Also close enough to Eden Park to walk - about a 30 minute stumble. Rooms were cleaned each day and looked tidy. Bathrooms could do with abit of a tickle up sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunnersfireman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Booked into this motel with a group of friends for the night before heading out of Auckland. Main attraction was the location. Got there to find a run down 80s concrete block / jungle, which apparently has only limited out water. Seeing as we were only staying for one night we decided it was easier to simply put up with the conditions. The real problem though was one of our group left some belongings on the seat of a chair under the dining room table. When we rang the next day to inform the hotel staff and inquire as to their whereabouts we were told "the items were left by the rubbish bin and were therefore thrown out, and that rubbish had been collected this morning". Ok, if you're going to lye to people about their reasonably expensive possessions going missing at least make up a lye that makes sense. We did a sweep of the room before we left and missed the items because of where they were, certainly not left by the bin (people don't often throw out, amongst other things, $300 sunglasses in perfectly good condition).

Overall, terrible experience and cannot recommend strongly enough to people to stay clear of this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Tired, not overly clean. Hot water appalling. Ran out after 2 min shower. At $195 a night for 3 adults and a 4 year old very poor value. No hairdryer. Heater barely adequate for size. Would never stay again.
After complaining was offered another unit but no doors on bedrooms. Owner did have a wee clean while we were out and put some flowers in. But not very happy with overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We needed accommodation for 2 grownups and 5 children under 12. Mt Eden Motel was able to provide us with a three bedroom unit at a reasonable cost sleeping up to 8. Whilst it's not the flashist motel it was absolutely perfect for our needs. Situated 10mins from everywhere we needed to be, vector arena, the zoo, motat etc.,. Three bedrooms, bath and shower, large kitchen with everything you need including the pantry. Large living and dining area. There's also a spa and swimming pool, it's off the road and has lovely hosts to boot. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to families everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

happy to recommend this motel. we wanted somewhere to stay the night and nothing more, it fulfilled that requirement exactly. Good pricing for what we received. Handy to the area we wanted and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

On the plus side - plenty of space in the 3 bedroom apartment, a very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, resonable parking, attentive staff who deliver your continental breakfast the night before. No real road niose. Most quiet if you are in a room facing the back. Great value for money. There is a full washing line if you need to do washing. Shower and bath in room, heaps of towels provided. Very close to Mt Eden and main roads to get into and out of Auckland

On the downside: tight parking if you have a large vehicle, the palce is a bit tired decor wise, the pool is small, and our bathroom floor was not kept the cleanest.

Room Tip: One facing the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susiecampgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
1.3 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#59 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#42 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cornwall Park Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ranfurly Evergreen Motel
0.8 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#2 of 8 in Epsom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dukes Midway Lodge
Dukes Midway Lodge
#61 of 106 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Eden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Eden Motel

Property: Mount Eden Motel
Address: 47 Balmoral Road, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Eden Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Eden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Eden Hotel Auckland Central
Mount Eden Motel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing