We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food & service!”
Review of Red Elephant

Red Elephant
Ranked #301 of 2,259 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Love the food & service!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a great restaurant for those who love Thai food. The food is very authentic and big portion. As a Thai person myself, this restaurant made me feel like I was back in Thailand because their food are not too Europeanized.
Excellent food selections
Excellent beverage selections
Great service provided
THank you guys!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceceille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Auckland”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Has to be the best Thai restaurant in Auckland, we tried many others and the food here is really great. The spicy ratings are also very accurate - if they say 'medium' it's really quite hot.

Prices are not cheap but it's worth it to get good quality food. Service is quick and attentive but not overbearing.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The very best service - a special place”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hard to get a better Thai meal out of Thailand - not the cheapest prices but you pay for what you get - wine though is surprisingly well priced. Separate vegetarian menu also. We have been several times. The service is fantastic - very attentive without being pushy - free parking around back of building

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You HAVE to try the Bankok Coffee!!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

a delicious meal and very attentive staff. you HAVE to try the Bankok Coffee when you go - its simply devine!!! we will be back!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaBrickell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The ultimate Thai Restaurant!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I absolutely love this place. They have the best Thai food in Auckland and I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Pralene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Elephant also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Red Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing