We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable meal and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Elephant

Red Elephant
Ranked #166 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visited this restaurant last night in a group of 11 people. We decided to go for the banquet option - a great idea for large groups as it allows you to try lots of different dishes. I was extremely impressed with the presentation / cleanliness of the restaurant and the service could not be faulted. The food was excellent - I tried several dishes and especially enjoyed the freshness and flavours - the sweet and sour was to die for. If you go here - splash out and try the Chi Chi cocktail - yummy - the barman is talented! Really enjoyed the meal and next time I am in town I will definately be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DINKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckalnd
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai at its best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great food, great atmosphere and good service.
You can always guarantee a great meal here, good for a group of people entertaining with business colleagues with a great atmosphere and service well suited from a couple through to a larger group.
good for lunch or dinner meetings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Went here for dinner on 10th March. Setting, service, food and value are all excellent, highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deserttrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner at Red Elephant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

It is one place which mixes beautiful ambiance, quick decent service and one of the most delicious Thai food in Auckland. Unlike city restaurants car parking is not a problem. After food invoice kept me smiling.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBassi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I came here on a quiet night but was blown away by the beautiful Thai Food. The staff were very helpful when we told them we wanted to eat vegetarian and bought out a wonderful selection of various starters and mains. The food was beautifully cooked and tasted very authentic,

The staff were lovely, constantly topping up our water and checking if we had enough rice. we were also made some very night cocktails that made our meal even more perfect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thecoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Elephant also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Red Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing