We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Off Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Off Broadway Motel
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed one night in June 2011. We got stuck in Auckland due to change in flight schedule so tried one of the hotel mentioned by Lonely Planet. However, we were disappointed because:
1. The heater was out of order! The staff gave us a portable heater and it's brand new! I don't know whether that implied that they were so aware of the situation.
2. I suspect that the floor slab is too thin! Throughout the night, we could be able to listen the footstep and TV sounds from the units on the upper floor. As we have to leave the hotel by 4am in next morning, you can imagine what a sleepless bad night we had got.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank weslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

From the point of reserving the most affordable,Newmarket motel at short notice to the arrival...which was late at 1200 midnight!
We received a very good service....... the room was comfortable, ambience relaxing.
Breakfast can be orderd on request (not included in rate).
For the shopper the Fashion centre is just a walk & the CBD is only a bus ride away,
convenient and would recommend to anyone in search of cost effective lodging (B&B)with comfort and warmth.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annchand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Adequate for 1 night. Average furnishings. Bathroom floor not clean.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NPP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excellents, Manager at Off Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2010

Please note that we advertise as a 4 star property but not as 4+ property. Further as I went through our departure list , we did not have a family from New Plymath checked out on the 13/05/2010. I would like to know further details in this regard.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I stayed for one night in February and it was awful. Hairs on the bathroom sink, a broken shelf that was a safety hazard, and worst of all - BED BUGS! I'd never encountered them before but apparently they are on the rise. I didn't know what it was that had crawled on me in the night (I woke up and squashed two) until I got back home and came up with red welts all over, 1 day later. Bites can take several days to appear (I subsequently learnt from scouring the internet). The management did take my complaints seriously but I could tell from the way they responded that they've had them before - the manager didn't act surprised and mentioned that they'd had an exterminator in recently. They were very apologetic, gave me a 50% discount and offered me a free nights' acommodation, but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gumboot_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excellents, Manager at Off Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2010

Thank you for informing us how you felt while you were staying in our motel. We did take this compaint seriously, certanly this is not the type of service that we desire to offer you. Please accept my apology. Unfortunatly we did not notice this untill you brought that to our notice as bugs do have hiding places mainly under bedding & they cannot be removed out of day today cleaning chemicals & disinfectants. However our motel has gone through professional bug control treatments not only in this particular room but the whole motel. Further our staff is well trained to check & identify a situation in this type. Further we have upgraded our facility upto a higher level including replacing televisions with 32" LCD flat screen televisions, painting etc
I assure you that the quality & standard of our motel at a high level & invite you to come & stay with us and enjoy the real comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Stayed there for 2 night and had our room moved because ' there was an infestation of insects' still have no idea what these were.

When we arrived the rooms are spacious but the decor is dated. The room had a terible 'fousty' smell. There was also small blood stains in the bed sheets.

We mentioned it to the cleaner the following day and were moved to a new room.

The new room didn't smell as bad.

The location is decent. but we were glad to leave .

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We were drawn to book this motel as it was handy to Newmarket shops (6 min walk) and central location. It also had big enough rooms for a child + couple. We were pleased that it was quiet and found the motel pretty tidy. The owners were averagly friendly but not overly helpful. The bathroom esp the bath was a bit run down and the spa bath jets did not work at all. For $200 a night, it would have been nice to have had some decent soap and shower gel but this was real cheap & nasty stuff. The kitchen facilities were very average and quite difficult to make your own breakfast. No dishwashing liquid either! The TV was very dated and only limited SKY, not even sure if it was SKY. We noticed the little things in this hotel - there was no morning paper. This would not cost the motel hardly anything yet would actually add a lot to one's stay. I think they are using their great location to get people but theres really nothing extra to rave about. If you want a good nights sleep, then yes ideal but theres nothing extra to write home about.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TorbTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

My wife and I have stayed in this small boutique hotel a number of times over the past few years and, until our most recent visit, we were very pleased with our stay. But since our previous visit, the hotel has changed ownership and, although the new owners were friendly and welcoming, we found that hotel's standards had dropped.

The property currently has a 4+ Qualmark rating and used to deserve those stars. Now it doesn't in our opinions.

First of all we requested a particular room well in advance of our stay and phoned to confirm our reservation a day before our arrival. When we checked-in, however, we were informed that the room wasn't available due to plumbing problems. Fair enough ... but then we were asked if we'd mind taking a room on the floor below because the hotel wasn't fully booked and they'd like to close off that floor in order to save having to put the hall lights on.

We politely refused because the top floor not only has the only views, it's far more quiet.

Without going into further detail, we found that the room we stayed in was no longer kept at the standards we were used to. Instead of cotton on the beds and pillows, it was now poly-cotton. Instead of top brands of products in the mini-bar fridge, it was much cheaper brands and some of the products showed signs of wear and tear. The beds weren't just made badly, it was if they'd been thrown together by someone in a huge hurry.

The extractor fan in the bathroom looked as if it hadn't been cleaned for and made a god awful racket when it was turned on. And the microwave - which was the most basic model & the cheapest brand - didn't work properly.

We'll probably still use Off Broadway from time to time because it is perfectly positioned for specialist medical appointments and hospital visits. But it no longer deserves it's 4+ star rating and I think that prospective guests should be made aware of this before they book.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PerfectStrangerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland Central
0 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Alexander Inn
0.6 mi away
Best Western Newmarket Inn & Suites
Best Western Newmarket Inn & Sui...
#16 of 134 in Auckland Central
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
734 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,627 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Broadway Motel

Address: 11 Alpers Avenue | Newmarket, Auckland Central, Auckland 1023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £99 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Off Broadway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Qualmark rated Apartment Style Accommodation with up to date facilities available in central Auckland Newmarket area. Simply the best location for travelers/business professionals. Fully serviced rooms with private balcony’s, Air-Conditioned comfort with lovely cotton duvets and neutral decor. Wireless broadband and Lan Broadband connection available to all guests. Large Studios with lots of space with private balconies. Bathrooms with bath (shower over). Queen-size bed and King single bed. Small Studios with a queen bed also available. Off Broadway Motel is the nearest Motel to Newmarket shops, cafes, bars, Olympic heated pool, spa, sauna, steam room, Mercy, Starship Hospital and gymnasium. 15 Minutes to Silvia Park Shopping centre, 3km to Auckland CBD and casino, 3.5km to Vector Arena and 3km to ASB Showgrounds. 16km to airport and Rainbows End Amusement park. 8km to Kelly Tarlton’s Underwater World. Close to Parnell and Remuera shopping centres, Ellerslie and Alexandra Park racecourses, university, showgrounds and major Auckland hospitals. On Auckland’s bus route, 3 km to EDEN PARK rugby & Cricket venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Off Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Broadway Motel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing