We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty hole” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yaping House

Yaping House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yaping House
Ranked #64 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty hole”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

By far the worse place I have ever stayed at in my life way overdue a overhaul in every way ...the toilet was disgusting it was never clean although the other guests were mainly to fault but at the same time the management should of cleaned on a more regular basis and if someone had the washing machine on u had a cold shower the kitchen I can't comment on because I wouldn't use it just passed thru on the way to the washing machine which also wasn't anything to write home about ,the bedroom was crowded with useless furniture and the bed was like nothing I have ever slept in I didn't have a decent nights sleep in the two weeks I stayed there, the only good point was the view from the front door over the city ..... In a word hellhole !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PNMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few weeks to save a bit if money. Mount Eden is nice and quiet and only a 20 min bus ride into town. Nice walk up the old volcano behind the hostel.

If your in any way fussy you won't like this place, if your happy to make do on a budget then you'll be fine.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseekers_774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This place is a long way from Auckland central as stated. Good views and nice English guy on desk. But thats all the good I can say about it. This place has heaps of potential but badly run down. Cockroaches ,mice etc, damp rooms. No heating, when heating is requested as has been done by various guests they are ignored. People sit in lounge in sleeping bags and blankets. Kitchen is totally inadequate and dirty. Bathrooms had band aid plasters in the shower for a several days. Chinese lady owner is very loud as are all her relatives ,is only interested in making money. Place has deteriorated very badly, a shame.

Room Tip: Avoid as things are at present.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kengisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here with my partner late oct.11. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Cockroaches, rats mice etc. Thin walls where you can hear everything in the next room. Dirty place . Run by Chinese woman a control freak who isnt interested in your complaints. A rude obnoxious person. English guy on desk a pleasant man but thats the only positive apart from the view. Very very noisy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Albie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. We were biding time until flying out of Auckland and had run out of steam to keep exploring after 8 months on the road. So, we wouldn't have stayed that long if we were just passing through.

We negotiated a deal over the phone based on the booking deals on one of the hostel booking sites. It was $50/night for the private room. The room was large with a large (but uncomfortable) bed, a single bed, a desk and a wardrobe. The ceilings were very high and the doors opened up to a little sitting area. We were on the first floor, right across from the kitchen. Most of the rooms here seem to be laid out differently as it's an old house that's been made into a hostel.

The building could use some updates (there were cracks in the ceiling/wall of our room). There was lots of fridge space which is rare. The kitchen itself is small for the number of rooms though. The cookware is limited. They do respond quickly to complaints - the toaster broke during our stay and nobody had brought it to their attention for a couple days but when I mentioned it they got a new one within a few hours.

The view of the city is neat because the place is situated on the side of Mt. Eden. You can walk down to the Mt. Eden shops within 15 minutes and over to Newmarket within 30 minutes. There was a bus nearby but we usually drove our car or walked. The parking is off the street, right in front of the hostel. There was usually enough space for all guests.

There is a TV and a free desktop computer hooked up to internet. There is also wireless internet for free which worked from our room (bonus!) but typically just worked in the common area and the front porch from what we were told. The showers were clean enough but could have used some shelves and more hooks/shelves for clothing.

The main owner/manager fellow is very helpful if you need local advice and they provided a map with the hostel marked on it to help. The area was very quiet at night and it just depended on the other guests for the noise in the hostel. I asked people to turn down music as it was late and I didn't want to bother the staff. Not sure if they would have minded though.

There are washing machines and lots of clotheslines. We preferred this hostel to the Bamber House which we stayed in a couple years ago. Mostly because this was a better price and we didn't get much better digs for the higher cost at the Bamber.

Overall, if we had to stay in Auckland we might return if we were on a budget trip again.

Room Tip: The one near the kitchen for good wireless signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamBCtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

positive,free internet(when works,not if more than 8 people connected at same time).
is a quiet neighbourghhood,and have a free car park,David the co owner is a nice guy that will help you on everything.
negative,safety,3 guys were stolen during my stay,one maori guy was blamed,i´m not sure was him.
Noise,if u plan to take a rest there forget it,the other owner is entering at any time on the rooms making lots of noise,and able to wake you up at 7 in the morning to make the payment,even u paid 1 week in advance.
good for saving money and having internet,not recommend for more than 2 days,quite dirty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maresdaterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hostel for a weekend to check out Auckland. Although we had trouble finding it (there are no signs indicating it and it's way up a hill) we enjoyed our weekend here.

The receptionist was very friendly and upon arrival showed us around the hostel and the common area and kitchen. Our double standard room was nothing special but it was clean, which I think is most important. It was a little inconvenient that we had to go through the dorm to get to our room which meant that we had to be very quiet coming home late. All the rooms come with free wireless internet, which was great.

All the common areas seemed to be clean, too. The common room with TV had comfy couches and a big table with enough space for everyone. The kitchen was well equipped, with 3 fridges and two stoves. There were enough bathrooms and toilets in the hostel and they were all maticulously cleaned.

I wouldn't advise using the laundry though as it ruined a couple of our clothes.

The location is very nice if you're looking for a quiet place to stay in a nice neighborhood. It was a 7 min walk to the bus stops that take you to downtown and Newmarket and it had a fabulous view over One Tree Hill.

We enjoyed ourselves and I would recommend this hostel to every young traveller coming to Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19bianca91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
0.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#59 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Off Broadway Motel
Off Broadway Motel
#24 of 106 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
1.7 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.1 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#2 of 8 in Epsom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaping House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaping House

Property: Yaping House
Address: 79 Owens Road, Auckland 1023, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Yaping House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaping House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing